We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great One Day Memorial Weekend Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Save Saved
You added San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #57 of 268 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Redondo Beach, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great One Day Memorial Weekend Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

My wife and I traveled with our two young children 7 and 5 years old so we could see the San Diego Padres Play. We stayed at this hotel for one night. The room was nice and the front staff were very friendly. They even gave us a room that over looked Padres Stadium. We mentioned that my son was having a birthday and they surprised us with a mini cake and candle when we got into the room after the game. Parking is 40 dollars a night, but we got lucky as we parked on the street right next to the hotel. The hotel is within walking distance to the Padres Stadium and eateries. There is a roof top bar which was pretty nice. Lots of young people or young couples. I would stay here again if I were to go to the Padres baseball game. The only thing I wished they had was a swimming pool. That would put the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Service Agent at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear bigbob0708,

Thank you so much for your great review! We are so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us here at the Marriott Gaslamp Quarter! We are always looking for ways to improve our guest's experience and we are happy to hear that is what you received. Yes, our rooftop bar is wonderful, with great views of Coronado bay and Petco Park. And our downtown location is very close to many shops and restaurants in the area. Again, thank you for your terrific review. We definitely look forward to having you come stay with us soon!

Katia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    444
    286
    71
    21
    12
See reviews for
114
217
62
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here for a conference in March. It's very convenient to the convention center. You are a short walk away from all the great restaraunts and entertainment. There's great places to run in the morning and their work out facilities are also decent. You are actually also can look out and see into the baseball stadium. I found this very convenient for in and out to the airport as well. The pool are was fantastic to just sit at and relax. Nice place, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask about facing the convention center. If you do this you can see a little of the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Service Agent at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear cometman,

We are happy to hear your stay with us was a great one! Our location is one of the many awesome
qualities of the hotel. We thank you for the feedback and are excited to see you again sometime soon!

Best regards,
Blake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a very nice hotel which lives up to Marriott standards. What separates this hotel from others is the location. It is right next door to the baseball stadium, Petco Park. In fact, they have a rooftop bar area where you can actually look right down into the stadium and see the game! It is also a block from the gaslamp disctrict so you don't need to have a car or drive once you get there.

Room Tip: Get a room with a stadium view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

This is a great location. Our room had a fantastic view of Petco Park. The room was comfortable and clean with just the right amount of space. It's gaslamp so you won't be in the room too much. Perfect location for taking in what the gaslamp district has to offer. Also, there is an incredible rooftop bar with almost 360° views of Petco Park, the bridge and downtown. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Service Agent at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear jjjv2,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our rooftop lounge was a hit. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Best regards,
Blake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I love staying at this hotel for a work conference but they make it very hard to fit into my budget at times. The Gaslamp in general is way overpriced. This hotel is awesome in design and the concierge level is great to watch a Padres game

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Assistant Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear William M,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again!

Kirill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here on the night of Black Friday. We had Thanksgiving in LA, and we decided to drive down for a night. One of the most irritating things was the lack of on-site parking at the hotel. You must park at the garage opposite the hotel. The lobby was very small for such a big hotel. The inside of the room was great. Typical Marriott quality. Our room faced the ballpark, but it wasn't baseball season. It is perfectly situated for the Gaslamp Quarter of San Diego.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the ballpark. You can see other San Diego sights from there. Also try to get the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

The check-in time of 4pm is late, but I guess the check out time of 12:00 is quite late too. I'd prefer an earlier check in time. So we checked in at 20 minutes to the hour and no rooms free. They said they'd call us. At 4 pm I reminded them we were here. Their response? Have we called you yet. Well they hadn't. But it turned out when we got home they called our home number. Not so smart. Next up we got the room but the TV remote didn't work. As the housekeeping staff were still busy outside the room I asked them to fix it. Mistake. They took a while, then we called the front desk, eventually it arrived after at least 30 minutes. Next morning around 9am maybe a bit earlier on a Sunday morning, we got a knock on the door. Now the room check was still hanging on the door handle outside - to me that would've been a clue that we were still on the room. Granted we had not put a privacy sign up but really a knock on the door at 9 am on a Sunday? Annoying as of course one of us had to get up and deal with the caller. We received an apology but it was as if we were being hurried out to meet their cleaning schedule. One last thing the TV is small and very low down. You have to sit quite upright (not relaxing) to watch it. We paid for a movie but the screen was tiny and while we enjoyed the film it wasn't exactly a great experience. A hotel TV has got to be big at least 42 and there is plenty of space for a bit TV - come on Marriott, we've all got bigger TVs at home!

Now we've stayed here before and we probably will again. The toiletries are superb, the room view right into Petco Park is fabulous. The included breakfast is very nice especially the coffee, way better than the Starbucks in the room. The view from the altitude bar is fabulous. The staff are generally pleasant. The room is always clean. It's near where the restaurants are so all in all it's good. It's just the niggles - they need to be fixed!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#8 Business Hotel in San Diego
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully reinvented the ultra-stylish San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter has quickly become the premier luxury hotel in the heart of the lively Gaslamp Quarter. Adjacent to PETCO Park, Home of the San Diego Padres, and two blocks from the San Diego Convention Center. Boasting a sophisticated modern design and breathtaking Ocean, San Diego skyline and baseball park views, home to Soleil @k Restaurant, Latitude Lounge & ALTITUDE Sky Lounge our award winning open-air rooftop hotspot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.