We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service from Staff and Jennifer Duncan!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #66 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Johns Creek, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Service from Staff and Jennifer Duncan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed here for business as there was a conference at the Convention Center. Very nice location, clean hotel, and nice rooftop bar. The front desk forgot to give me my wakeup call which messed up my morning meeting. Jennifer Duncan went above and beyond to correct this issue!! She turned a bad situation into a very positive experience for me and because of this I will return to this hotel. Marriott, you owe Jennifer quite a thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    344
    88
    24
    15
See reviews for
144
250
66
367
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was a good location for walking and public transportation. We spent our first afternoon walking to Seaport Village and the Midway. Next day we walked to a corner nearby to pick up the Old Town Trolley for the day. After that we bought a 3 day pass and took public transportation all over. Even out to Point Loma via a trolley and 2 busses.

The hotel was nice rather than special. We could see the bay from our window but the window was really dirty on the outside. The concierge lounge was very crowded in the morning with inadequate seating. The staff was attentive and offered to send us down to the restaurant, but then a table was vacated.

The front desk people were friendly and usually helpful (told us we couldn't get to Point Loma on public transportation). I did enjoy the salt water taffy that was always there. No one was at the lobby concierge desk the entire 5 days we were there. The gym was closed for remodeling.
The rooftop bar was inviting and good to watch part of a Padre's game one night.

We loved San Diego and will be back, but will try the other Marriott (convention center) next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and a view of the ball park which will also give you a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Located in the heart of the Gaslamp area. Around the corner from Petco park - some rooms overlook the stadium. Many restaurants and bars nearby. Short walk to Trolley Line, Convention Centre and Marina. Modern hotel with all the facilities. Rooms spacious and very clean, comfy beds. Free wifi in lobby, pay for wifi in rooms - though at the time of my visit they were upgrading the wifi so that may be changing.
Ralph's 24 hr supermarket within walking distance maybe 15 min. About $15-20 cab fare to/from airport depending on traffic.

Beware of rooms with adjoining doors - noise travels quite well through them!

Overall a great place to stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I typically love my stays at the Marriott, the brand is strong and quality consistent across their properties globally. However my stay at this one was disappointing only because of their gym remodel.

They had guests go instead to another gym several blocks away. And if that wasn't bad enough, you couldn't just show up w your room key. They required guests to get a voucher and be put onto a log book every time gym use was wanted. And worse it was only given out at front desk. So if there was line for people checking in or out, they made you wait in line. This was so annoying and a major time waster, in addition to the 5 minute walk to the other gym and 5min back.

If you expect to work out during your stay in San Diego, you'd be better off staying somewhere else w a functioning gym. At least until their renovation is done.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Easy walk to many attractions. The harbor, navy stuff and just a quick walk to the Petco Ballpark. The Concierge Lounge was wonderful and had many helpful hints. Clean, well maintained. Easy to hop on and off the trolly tour. Comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had a great stay here, locaton was good and not to hectic. The staff were very helpful and the room was a bit old but still a delight. We were able to get around from this base point with ease. Lots of navy stuff to see, harbour cruises, night life, hotels, sites, cigar bar and restaurants. The concierge was so helpful with all the restaurants, sights and things to do.

Room Tip: Breakfast across the road at Subway 24/7. Great happy hours at TGIF.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This Marriott exceeded my expectations in every way! Concierge Lounge had fabulous food - ALL of the time. The Staff consistently greeted me, asked questions, and always thanked me for my visit. The Housekeeping Staff cleaned my room with complete attention to detail. Turn down service was given to me a few times during the visit (couldn't figure out why one night I didn't get it). The location near Petco Stadium, restaurants, shopping and even the beach (a little bit of a walk) made staying in this hotel very easy. And, the upstairs bar - Altitude - has the most amazing views of the city - especially at night! Driving to Coronado Beach was also just a few blocks away to get to the highway. The only thing that I didn't like was the height of the tv in the bedroom - mistakenly placed inside of a cabinet that was way too low to the ground. It was a buyer's mistake that made watching tv very uncomfortable while lying in bed. Other than that, I felt spoiled and pampered staying at this particular Marriott. It's a great place to stay - especially if you have access to the Concierge Lounge!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#8 Business Hotel in San Diego
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully reinvented the ultra-stylish San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter has quickly become the premier luxury hotel in the heart of the lively Gaslamp Quarter. Adjacent to PETCO Park, Home of the San Diego Padres, and two blocks from the San Diego Convention Center. Boasting a sophisticated modern design and breathtaking Ocean, San Diego skyline and baseball park views, home to Soleil @k Restaurant, Latitude Lounge & ALTITUDE Sky Lounge our award winning open-air rooftop hotspot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott, BookIt.com, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.