We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, Niceley Upgraded Rooms, Annoyingly Loud Toilets” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Save Saved
You added San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #55 of 269 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Niceley Upgraded Rooms, Annoyingly Loud Toilets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Pros

In the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter and literally steps away from the Padres ballpark
Rooms have been updated and have excellent bath amenities
Staff is friendly
With the AAA rate valet parking is included

Cons

Can be pricey at times - $300+ for a standard room
Be prepared to hear numerous toilets other than your own flushing throughout your stay - I have stayed in numerous rooms and can always count on the sound of a flushing toilet from above, or next door

Overall, if you are a Marriott frequent guest you'll like this place. If you are looking just for the nightlife then there are plenty of additional options in the area that may be cheaper.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    455
    289
    71
    21
    13
See reviews for
120
218
63
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I had a meeting at the Marriott Gaslamp. They did an amazing job. Great meeting space with natural day light and access to terrace.. (two thumbs up). Meeting room floor doesn't have any sleeping rooms (again two thumbs up), rooms are clean and well maintained, easy access to airport, train, tram, restaurants, nightlife, and convention center.
And the people I work with... ahmazing.. great service.. LOVE my convention sales contact. she went above and beyond...
Great location.. price is good.. don't miss out the opportunity to stay a very nice hotel while you are in San Diego

Room Tip: ask for higher floor with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our visit of San Diego and we could not have picked a better place. Right where everything happens in San Diego, it has a fully renovated product - the room was impeccable for a Residence Inn and it had nice amenities.
Quite and very comfortable however the rooms do not have a in-room safe, you need to leave your valuables with the front desk (so weird considering it has a new product).
Front desk team was very sweet and professional - exactly what you expect from Marriott employees - great!
Valet parking is a little steep, USD 35 per night, however all places around are the same price, so do not worry about looking for it.
Great place to stay in this awesome city!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I am lucky and get to travel to San Diego for business and pleasure frequently. The ONLY place to stay in the Gaslamp district is THIS Marriott. The professional and friendly experience starts with the valet parking staff. The front desk employees greet you with nice smiles and bowls of salt water taffy and tootsie rolls. The Sales staff has always been very accommodating with everything, including special requests. The rooms are comfortable, luxurious, clean and the corner suites are definitely worth the upgrade. The concierge lounge has incredible food, desert and drink options. The views from the hotel include spectacular sunsets, Petco Park, Coronado Island, Point Loma and the San Diego Bay. The most spectacular experience is the Altitude lounge situated high atop the hotel. This rooftop bar has a large circular fire pit and an excitement level second to none. If you are heading to Southern California, you MUST stay at the San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter!!! I promise you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Corner suites overlooking the ball park and the bay are outstanding!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Service Associate at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind remarks about our hotel. Our location is definitely what sets us apart from the many hotels here in the Gaslamp with the views we have of beautiful San Diego. Altitude is definitely a favorite attraction for both guests and locals alike and we are pleased you were able to enjoy your time there with us. We are looking forward to you visiting us again soon.

Best regards,

Carissa Washington
Guest Service Associate
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here for one weekend night recently. It was nicer than expected. The location itself, smack dab in the middle of the Gaslamp quarter is such a treat, as downtown San Diego is such a walking friendly city. Most hotels are around $200 per night but this was just under that at $159.

Loved the rooftop lounge (Altitude) and the view of the baseball stadium from above, and also from my room! Valet parking is required at $35 per night but if you show them your AAA card the fee is waived. That was a nice surprise!

Free Wi-Fi in the lounge. By the way, the bathrooms in the rooms are very nice, granite, with decent lighting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of PETCO park, where the Padres play.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Guest Service Associate at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Having a AAA rate available for our guests to book their reservation with and get free valet parking is one of the many perks to staying with our hotel. Just as many of the hotels downtown we do not have the luxury of offering complementary parking because of the lack of spacing available so this deal surely makes us stand out. By far our view of the baseball stadium from Altitude is amazing and is a great alternative to going to the game. We appreciate your comments about our hotel and are happy we are able to impress you.



Carissa Washington
Guest Service Associate
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel is right in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter. We could see the Petco stadium from our room. The service was great, staff is very nice. Jennyfer (from the front desk) was very friendly and helpful! Fun roof top bar! Everything is basically within walking distance. We had a couple of desserts at the Latitude Lounge for my husband's birthday, the bread pudding is absolutely the best that I've ever had!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel! Jennyfer is definitely an asset to our team, she is very warm and welcoming and we are elated she was able to assist in providing you with a great stay. Our Krispy Kreme bread pudding is a fan favorite for many of our guests as well and is a go to option for something that will satisfy your sweet tooth cravings. Once again we appreciate your feedback on your experience with us.

Carissa Washington
Concierge/Guest Service Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Good things:
-Great location! Across from Petco park and San Diego Convention center.
-Modern vibe and decor
-Nicely appointed rooms
-Fun roof top bar, great for hanging out with friends for drinks
-Friendly, helpful staff

Not-so-good:
-Noise, naturally it's loud when a game is going on because it is next to the ball park. But also since it's in the gas lamp, lots of partiers choose to stay and "whoop it up". Fine if you're game, but not great for business travelers. Also, walls are thin--you can hear every time a neighbor flushes the toilet
-Plumbing: they must have skimped on this in the remodel. My sink made loud noises when draining and the flow on the shower was pathetic and sprayed up on the ceiling.
-Room service: limited menu, no vegetarian options or wines by the glass. (There are lots of fantastic restaurants nearby though)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Alocke78,

Thank you so much for your comments and for being our guest. I am very sorry to read that there were some plumbing issues in your room. If it is not too much trouble would you mind letting me know what room you stayed in? We will immediately look into this and make any necessary repairs. I can be reached by calling the hotel: 619.696.0234

Once again, I apologize and I hope to hear from you so we may correct the issue in your former room.

All my best,

Jeffrey Burg
Director of Operations
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#8 Business Hotel in San Diego
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully reinvented the ultra-stylish San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter has quickly become the premier luxury hotel in the heart of the lively Gaslamp Quarter. Adjacent to PETCO Park, Home of the San Diego Padres, and two blocks from the San Diego Convention Center. Boasting a sophisticated modern design and breathtaking Ocean, San Diego skyline and baseball park views, home to Soleil @k Restaurant, Latitude Lounge & ALTITUDE Sky Lounge our award winning open-air rooftop hotspot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Marriott, getaroom.com, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.