We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Save Saved
You added San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #57 of 269 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great location, nice people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was in town for a convention and this was a great choice. The location is about a 3-5 minute walk to the convention center, you are enclose to tons of bars and restaurants, and the staff are friendly. The location to the ballpark is very neat and the rooftop really is amazing and you can watch the game from there. You are about a 15 min walk to the seaport and USS Midway. The Marriott quality you expect is there, with some complaints: the parking price is RIDICULOUS (38 a day) but you can park your car a block away from $15 a day or so. The concierge lounge is small but well stocked, however it is not consistently manned on the weekend days for elite members and it can get gross with no one minding the store. Finally the gym is really not good. They should put a little money into getting new cardio equipment there. But those are the only complaints I had. Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a ballpark view if you care.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Wilcox109,

Thank you for your review and kind words. I am happy to read that you enjoyed our location and our multi-award winning Altitude sky lounge. Regarding your parking charges, unfortunately parking in all downtown hotels can be expensive, and we are actually priced below many of the surrounding properties. However, we do have packages that include valet parking. When they are available they are a great value.

As you may know, all Marriott hotels in North America close their concierge lounge on weekends and do not regularly provide any breakfast options for platinum and gold Marriott Rewards guests. We are breaking the "rules" a bit by offering a very light, self-service continental breakfast on weekends. While we do have someone re-stocking food and cleaning up, the weekend lounge offerings are not intended to represent the weekday service levels or breakfast choices. Lastly, I am happy to let you know that all of our Cardio equipment is now brand new and was installed last week.

I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Thank you for being our guest!

All my best,

Jeffrey Burg
Director of Operations
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    444
    285
    71
    21
    13
See reviews for
114
216
62
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

This was my first stay at this property. It will not be the last. Excellent location. Across the street from the ballpark and conveniently located in the Gas Lamp District with a plethora of restaurants. The entire staff that I encountered were professional and cordial. The candy dishes at the front desk is something extra to compliment the visit. The rooms were clean and spacious. The beds were extremely comfortable, as I hated to get out of bed. The valet parking was steep. I opted for a cab. The roof top bar provides spectacular views. I look forward to the next visit.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear ResortMike,

We are very pleased to read about your first stay with us! We do have an excellent location, extremely comfortable beds, clean rooms, spectacular views of San Diego from our rooftop bar Altitude, and the most pleasant and cordial staff around! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to San Diego!

Best regards,

Aimée Bond
Front Office Manager
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

If you're in San Diego, NOT at the beach, this is a great hotel . . . cool vibe, Rooftop bar, 10 steps from Petco Park . . . and a block from the main drag of Gaslamp. Was actually at the hotel the week it opened a couple of years ago . . . its still very nice, a better Marriott property!

Great if you have a Convention, about a 5-minute walk, and close enough to the waterfront that you can take a nice long walk to the more touristy places!

If you're a Padres fan, or your team is playing them, this IS the place!

Room Tip: High floor, stadium view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear MadhatterFl,

Thank you so much for telling us about your enjoyable stay with us and I am glad to see that you enjoyed yourself at our open air lounge, Altitude. Hope that next time you are in San Diego that we will see you again.

Sincerely,

Sean Mattix
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great place to stay for a meetings in the Convention Center. Had a great view of Petco Park from the 22nd floor roof-top. Close to many restaurants. Great walking along the marina, embarkadero and Seaport Village is not far away.

Room Tip: When booking more than one room on the wholesale internet sites like Orbitz, put them all in one nam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Was in town for a convention. I eschewed the big, official "convention hotels" and opted for my favorite, the Marriott. I was not at all disappointed. It's only about a quarter-mile walk, not bad at all. Some colleagues were staying at the Marina Marriott, which is next to the Convention Center, but door to door their walk seemed longer.

I was completely satisfied with the Marriott Gaslamp. Absolutely wonderful, friendly staff, my room was clean and I "almost" had a view of Petco Field from my room. It was close to some really good restaurants, far closer than the Marina Marriott.

But this place seemed to be a party spot. Saturday night at 2:15 a group of 10-12 drunks had closed a bar and descended on the room next to me. Drunk shouting in the hallways, etc. Security came up and took care of it, but the whole floor was awake by then. The rooftop bar was voted best trendy bar in San Diego, but that also brings a younger party element to the property. And the fact that it's rooftop means this group is all over the lobbies, elevators, etc.

Without a doubt it met my needs and expectations, but that may not be true for everyone considering staying there. It also has no pool, no hot tub, nothing, also a deterrent for many families.

Room Tip: Many rooms have a view of Petco Field, although they may cost a few extra bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Business meeting, great location for exploring Gas Lamp district and a 10 min walk to the convention center. Rooms were clean and comfortable and could see home plate inside the stadium from my window.

Room Tip: Go up high and ask for one facing the stadium
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Stellus:
We are glad to know you had an enjoyable stay with us and we thank you for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Francisco Urvina
Housekeeping Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a suite on the 11th floor and it was very noisy.

We could hear the guests above us getting ready, dropping things etc.

ADVICE: PASS on the restaurant Soleil @K We had Sunday breakfast and the service was the worst service we have EVER experienced. My husband and I go out very often and know bad to good service and this restaurant is below bad. I guess when I had to tell the hostess our server hasnt shown up after we have been sitting for 15 minutes should have been a red flag. PASS THIS UP!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Director of Food and Beverage at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Katmar7,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay with us was and reviewing our hotel. First of all I am very sorry for the noise that you experienced during our stay and I have communicated this to our Loss Prevention team to make sure that they are aware of what happened during your stay.

I cannot begin to tell you how disappointed I am to find out about your experience that you had in our restaurant, Soleil. We strive to ensure that everyone has the best possible experience when they visit us and we obviously fell WAY short of providing that. I have shared this with not only my supervisors but with our morning restaurant staff to let them know about your experience, we will use this as a training tool and to make sure that this does not happen again. I hope that the next time that you are in San Diego that you stay with us again and give us the chance to make up for your bad dining experience . We are more than capable of giving the great service that you deserve. Once again, please accept my sincere apologies.

Regards,

Sean Mattix
Director of Food & Beverage
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#8 Business Hotel in San Diego
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully reinvented the ultra-stylish San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter has quickly become the premier luxury hotel in the heart of the lively Gaslamp Quarter. Adjacent to PETCO Park, Home of the San Diego Padres, and two blocks from the San Diego Convention Center. Boasting a sophisticated modern design and breathtaking Ocean, San Diego skyline and baseball park views, home to Soleil @k Restaurant, Latitude Lounge & ALTITUDE Sky Lounge our award winning open-air rooftop hotspot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Agoda so you can book your San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.