We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our CA trip to Santa Barbara” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #65 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Natick, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our CA trip to Santa Barbara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We flew into San Diego and drove to Murietta to visit our mother in law. While there we drove to Santa Barbara for a few days to visit family. On our return trip home we stayed in San Diego for a few days and stayed at the Westin. It was great but for us, very expensive. More bussiness like atmosphere which was a bit of a turn off. The reason we chose this hotel was because of the on line promotion of $99 a night we saw on their web site, Guess what...when we got thwere it didnt exist. TRAPPED! We decuded to stay one night since we were offered an upgrade. The bed was pure heaven...loved it. The room and view were great too. Except for the price tag our stay was nice.

Room Tip: Look around for better priced hotels. They do exist and are less bussiness like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Steve R,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I would greatly appreciate it if you could contact me regarding your visit. I am curious about your check in experience and would like to learn about the rate discrepancy. We typically do not have a $99 rate, and if there was an error I want to make sure it is corrected.

We appreciate you staying with us.

Happy Holidays,

Jeffrey Burg
Director of Operations
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    352
    89
    24
    17
See reviews for
145
253
66
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I like this hotel and the location. It is tow walk to the convention center which is close and the gas lamp quarter and east village are easily accessible. I don't like the $36/night parking fee ouch. The room is okay but would like hooks in the closet and more places to hang stuff in the bathroom. The bathroom layout is nice with the curved shower curtain rod and lots of shelve space. I don't care for the gilchrist & Hommes toiletries. I prefer the usual bath and body works orange and ginger toiletries. Bedside I would have liked an outlet to charge my phone. I had to plug in my own extension cord. The TV did not have a media center built in so I had to hook up directly to the TV with my laptop. The TV was pretty old at 720p and I had to get a Mini 3.5 to RCA Y splitter to get audio from laptop to the TV. I like the furniture and the desk is great. Great view of the bay and Petco park. The view is even better on top of the Hotel at Altitude the restaurant on top. I would have liked a pool and spa, but no dice here. I really don't like wifi the service here I actually turned off and used the 3G on my phone cause it was so frustrating. I did speed tests and had great speed but the service would keep disconnecting and I had to reconnect over and over again . They use AT&T wifi service which I am less than impressed with.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Lvinstyle,

Thank you for your review and comments. I am sorry that you experienced some difficulty with our technology offerings. In 2013, we will be upgrading and changing our guest internet. These changes will provide a much better user experience. I hope that you will consider staying with us in the future, and "test drive" our new systems.

Happy Holidays,

Jeffrey Burg
Director of Operations
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

First time staying at this hotel. I got a great AAA rate that included valet parking (normally $36) and got upgrade to a king suite on the end of the hall (really nice room!). Very friendly staff when I checked in and very comfortable and clean room. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night while visiting a friend in the area. The hotel is in a great location so you can walk to pretty much anything you would want to do. The lobby is nice, no frills, but clean. There is a restaurant and bar that seemed pretty nice but i didnt attend. The room was pretty standard, nothing special but nothing that turned me off. If you can get a good price this is a great place to stay but dont expect any sort of luxury experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We attended a high school soccer showcase for our daughter and stayed here at the Marriott Gaslamp Quarter. It was by far one of the better Marriott experiences we have had.
Complimentary Starbucks int he morning was a great touch for our early morning soccer games.
The restaurants and night club are a must do experience.
The location to literally 100's of restaurants and night life choices makes it a place we will return to with great pleasure.
When looking don worries about staying here. A great value!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mideast U.S.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Can't say enough good things about this hotel. The location was fantastic to get out in the Gaslamp quarter and the rooms very very clean, spacious, and outfitted about as nicely as any top end Las Vegas hotel you may have visited.

Three minor complaints, though - 1) If you want WI-FI in your room you have to pay for it. More and more this is a free amenity for guests at other hotels, but not here. And, when you do pay for it, it is only for one device. So, in my case I had a business laptop, personal laptop and smart phone. I would have to pay for internet on each of them in order to have access. They did let me know that wi-fi is free in the lobby, on the roof and I think in the business center (their offices, not a customer business center as far as I could tell.)

2) No breakfast included.

3) No fridge in the room, although there is an ice machine on each floor.

A very comfortable stay. There is a parking garage across the street that cost me $18 for an overnight park. So that is probably cheaper than the valet service.

Room Tip: Note that your card is needed to access the room floors. So, if anyone is meeting you you'll ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed at the Marriot Gaslamp on a conference visit to San Diego in 2010 and can unequivacally say the staff, rooms, and overall facility is excellent. One of the hidden gems was the roof top lounge and gym facility. Location is obviously outstanding with walking access to the gas lamp district and the core of San Diego. If you like baseball it is a great choice for attending a game...great hotel and would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#8 Business Hotel in San Diego
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully reinvented the ultra-stylish San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter has quickly become the premier luxury hotel in the heart of the lively Gaslamp Quarter. Adjacent to PETCO Park, Home of the San Diego Padres, and two blocks from the San Diego Convention Center. Boasting a sophisticated modern design and breathtaking Ocean, San Diego skyline and baseball park views, home to Soleil @k Restaurant, Latitude Lounge & ALTITUDE Sky Lounge our award winning open-air rooftop hotspot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo, Hotwire, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.