We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great neighborhood for culture” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #59 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood for culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great place to stay if you want to see local culture for example Halloween. San Diego is a very sexy town apparently. The hotel is a short walk to the waterfront and close to several fun eateries. By I'm large it's not a cheap part of San Diego but a good value for the money and if spending foreign currency will seem like a bargain if you can get a good room rate. The staff are friendly if even a little ditzy. But that's part of SD charm- the weather is great, people look good, smile and are ditzy.

Room Tip: higher floor the better I would guess. Didn't spent a lot of time in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    326
    76
    23
    13
See reviews for
135
237
64
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed in San Diego on the first leg of a 10 day trip. Our hotel room obtained through Hotwire.com was an excellent price and turned out to be the Marriott. A great experience all around. The room was nice- the lobby was beautiful and the staff was first rate. There is a restaurant adjacent and it is across the street from Petco Park. We were there the first weekend in October with wonderful weather for walking. Paid Parking is across the street in a safe, well lit garage. In the Gaslamp Quarter you can find everything you need within a few blocks- walk, take a pedicab or a taxi- Variety and fun await!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Concierge at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Islandturtle,

We appreciate you sharing your experience here and are happy we were able to provide you with a memorable experience. Our location is definitely what makes us unique in that the only way to truly be able to explore the Gaslamp Quarter is to simply see the sights on foot. We hope you will choose to visit us once again on your next trip to San Diego!

Warmest regards,

Carissa Washington
Concierge
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Dundee, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Fantastic older updated hotel with all the amenities I needed including a friendly staff with helpful tips and information. I would most definelty stay at this hotel for upcoming business or pleasure trips.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Gary S,

Thank you so much for the great review and for styaing with us. I'm happy to see that you enjoyed your visit and will stay with us again. If we can ever be of assistance please let us know.

All my best,

Jeffrey Burg
Director of Operations
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you are visiting San Diego and want to stay in a hotel that will make you feel special from the time you arrive until you depart then dont hesitate. The San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter is a well appointed hotel with a staff that pays attention to the details. High Recomended.

Room Tip: Enjoy a night cap on the rooftop lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Luke D,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are very thrilled that you enjoyed our location and hotel and are always over the moon that you were made to feel special during your stay since we truly believe that it’s our service and our team that sets us apart from other hotels! Thank you again and we sure hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Susanna Ashalyan
Front Office Supervisor
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is an Excellent Hotel. Modern, very clean, well furnished, Staff was outstanding. It is located In the middle of the Gaslamp District convenient to the trolley, 2 blocks to the waterfront boardwalk and the Convention Center. Breakfast at the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Steven S,

Thank you for pointing out our terrific location and service. Our team works very hard to take care of all of our guests and make them feel at home. We are equally fortunate to be close to all that San Diego has to offer. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Take care,

Jeffrey Burg
Director of Operations
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We checked in here after a horrible and chaotic stay at Holiday Inn on the Bay, and we felt like we were welcomed into an oasis of kindness and peacefulness. The staff is INCREDIBLY helpful in so many ways including helping us check in early [thank you Carlos!] because our son had his nap time earlier than their check-in time was. We loved our rooms, our view of Petco Park and the Bay, and the location is absolutely unbeatable. If we are lucky enough to return to San Diego, this is where we will definitely stay!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Curiosvillager,

I am so glad that you felt peaceful and welcome while staying with us, and so sorry that your trip did not start out that way. Being able to help and make our guests stay the best it can be truly is what makes our jobs worthwhile. We are also very lucky to have extremely passionate team members such as Carlos working with us who will provide you with service and care worth writing about! Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Susanna Ashalyan
Front Office Supervisor
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/Westport/Provence
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
418 helpful votes 418 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I am an Intercontinental Hotel loyal client but I must admit this is the BEST Marriot that I've experienced. Rooms are clean, clean with many 5* ammenities that you would not expect. Bathrooms small but modern. The views from the rooms are wonderful and the flatscreen TV, work station and comft bed are tops. The lounge on the roof 'Latitude is the 'IN' place in San Diego and we ordered dinner from the lobby restaurant that could be delvered to this wonderful lounge overlooking San Diego while having drinks. The breakfast and the staff is Soleil are wonderful. Mercedes and all at the front desk..and throughout the hotel (the two lovely gals in the Lounge Room) are wonderful! Homey touches like bowls of candy when you check in and bottles of mineral water that keep appearing in your room for free are a wonderful touch as is the chocolates at bedtime. The location could not be better and I will happily admit that this Hotel exceeded my best expectations for any Marriot. It should be the 'Hallmark that all others in this chain strive . I recommend it highly and I am oone who likes 'Luxe' locations. Any little extras that it does not prvide is made up for in the myriad of extras that this lovely (and spanking clean) hotel provides. Oh..Fitness Room and to ,many other extras to mention!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear LeTerrible,

Wow! Thank you so very much for your amazing review! We have shared your kind words with the team and we are all so humbled. Delivering the experince you had is our number one priority, and I can assure you that we will not stop trying to impress and truly take care of our guests. We hope you will stay with us again and please let us know if we can be of service to you.

Thank you again!

Warmest regards,

Jeffrey Burg
Director of Operations
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully reinvented the ultra-stylish San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter has quickly become the premier luxury hotel in the heart of the lively Gaslamp Quarter. Adjacent to PETCO Park, Home of the San Diego Padres, and two blocks from the San Diego Convention Center. Boasting a sophisticated modern design and breathtaking Ocean, San Diego skyline and baseball park views, home to Soleil @k Restaurant, Latitude Lounge & ALTITUDE Sky Lounge our award winning open-air rooftop hotspot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.