We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice for downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #59 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A great choice for downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

A very nice hotel located in the Gaslamp Quarter, among numerous restaurants and bars and right next to the San Diego Padres ball park. We were there in November (that is, in the baseball off-season) so even though our room faced the stadium, we couldn't experience how it is to watch a ball game from your hotel room. Our room was really spacious and it came with a little office area in the back which was great. You may wanna try the rooftop restaurant/bar (the name of which escapes my mind right now). The views are great! I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    330
    79
    23
    14
See reviews for
138
240
64
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here over the weekend. The location in the Gaslamp District was great. The hotel was clean and the rooms were beautiful. One of the nicest Marriott properties I have stayed in. The conceirge lounge was closed for the weekend and we were provided free buffet breakfasts in the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear FamilyDawg,

We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in our property and have set very high standards for ourselves to ensure every guest recieves the best possible experience. I'm glad you enjoyed having breakfast in Soliel @ K since the lounge was closed. We look forward to seeing your again soon!

Aimee Bond
Front Office Manager
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed one night since my son is a baseball fan!! We were able to get a baseball view which was awesome you could really only see the white sign, but you could not watch the game from our window, you could hear it. We were on the 17th floor. We had a corner room which had a nice desk area to the side that made the room feel bigger. The tv is average size and there is no mini fridge (annoying). The bathroom was quite small with a very annoying sliding door that had no lock, not real fun when you have three kids in the room.
We had drinks in the bar downstairs which was nice and at the top of the hotel which was amazing, this is the reason people stay here. The food was just ok and was pretty pricey for what you got, the service in resturant was just ok too. Valet is $36 a night but if you come to hotel just for drinks on game night you get free valet with $25 bar tab.
Location, location and location is the reason to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor but not the one right under the bar at top you can hear the music at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I wanted to be within walking distance to the convention center, because I was here for Comic-con. The hotel is just a block away. Once I got to my room, I realized that this hotel also was within walking distance of almost everything there is to do in that area of San Diego. Staff was good. If you had a question they where on it. The Valet should be given a Merit badge for having to drive through all of that traffic.

Room Tip: Get a room at, or above the 9th floor on the front of the hotel. From there the hotel looks out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The location of this hotel is ideal. It is within easy walking distance of the San Diego Convention Center, the Gaslamp District, and Seaport Village. In addition, if you are a Padres' fan, Petco Park is right next door. The hotel service is impeccable. My wife and I received an outstanding rate for our stay. We got the AAA rate, which included valet parking. The rooms are of moderate size and are comfortable. When my wife and I return to San Diego, we have agreed to return to the San Diego Marriott Gaslamp.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Customer service at this hotel is excellent. We were always greeted with a warm smile. The staff were responsive to every request including supplying a mini fridge! They even brought cookies and milk to the room for my grandson at no extra charge! The location is ideal, walking distance to the GasLamp district and Seaport Village. The rooms are clean and bathrooms very spacious.
We enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked Petco Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed here for two nights on a business trip. I really didn't get much of a chance to see or use the hotel amenities, but overall I'd highly recommend this hotel if you want to be in the Gaslamp area of San Diego. Be aware that driving in this area is difficult. There are very congested one-way streets and often they block-off areas for special events. But I like the area for easy walking access to countless restraunts and good running paths. Parking is ridiculously expensive, but, comparable to all hotels in this area. All staff members that I encountered were exceptionally friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Being a Gold member or higher of the Marriott rewards got me a room with a view of the ballpark and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear JBVB,

Thank you so much for your comments! Since we are located in the Gaslamp Quarter, the heart of San Diego's dining and entertainment district, navigating the streets can sometimes present challenges because of the many choices of restaurants, galleries and other attractions. We welcome you to speak with any of our knowledgeable staff with any questions about directions and suggestions. We can always help you with the best possible routes to get to your destination. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back.


Warmest regards,

Jacklyn Kacar
Front Office Supervisior
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully reinvented the ultra-stylish San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter has quickly become the premier luxury hotel in the heart of the lively Gaslamp Quarter. Adjacent to PETCO Park, Home of the San Diego Padres, and two blocks from the San Diego Convention Center. Boasting a sophisticated modern design and breathtaking Ocean, San Diego skyline and baseball park views, home to Soleil @k Restaurant, Latitude Lounge & ALTITUDE Sky Lounge our award winning open-air rooftop hotspot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.