We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best option in gaslamp district with cool outdoor rooftop lounge overlooking Petco field and steps to hrh, cc, restaurants and H” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter to your Saves list
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #66 of 269 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best option in gaslamp district with cool outdoor rooftop lounge overlooking Petco field and steps to hrh, cc, restaurants and H”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This is my go to hotel in San Diego and it is as close to the convention center as either the bayfront or the marquis. Rooms are updated since 2011 stay and the rooftop workout center has a great city view of the gaslamp. Everything you could possibly want to do is within 4 blocks of this place, including Hard Rock Hotel, Donovans steakhouse, Searsucker restaurant, great sushi (Nobu and Taka), Savilla and too many bars to list.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    340
    86
    24
    14
See reviews for
141
245
66
358
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is a great hotel to stay at in the Downtown-Gaslamp area. The staff is extremely friendly, efficient and helpful. This is the perfect location for the San Diego-Gaslamp attractions, restaurants as well as the convention center.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

The hotel accomodations were better than excellent. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous. The location of the hotel is also excellent. It is close to everything, especially PETCO Stadium. I travel to San Diego on business a lot and I usually stay at the other Marriott Hotels. I wanted to try the Gaslamp Quarter and I will definitely be staying here in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

The hotel is located in a prime location near the convention center and Petco park. If you're there on a day the Padres are playing, be sure to go to the roof and see the game. The rooftop turns into a hopping club at night (stayed on the 17th floor and did not hear any noise from club) which after 10 has a line to get in -- but with your room key you'll get priority access with no lines. The rooms are decorated nicely with custom tiling in the bathroom, comfortable beds, and depending on location view of bay, ballpark, or city. Parking standard city around $35 (self parking Ace lot just across street on K about $23). The concierge in the lobby is moderately helpful. There are many, many, many places to eat within walking distance. Bummer though, no pool at this property.

Room Tip: Bay or ballpark view, not near elevator or ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kankakee, IL
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The location was great being right where the action is in the Gaslamp district of San Diego. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was on 12th floor looking into the Padres ballpark which was cool. By using Priceline, it was an excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte,NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Room-large, clean and ready on time...great view into Petco to watch Padres lose again! Area awesome to walk around-staff from the front desk, valets, wait staff all great-all but the "angry" attendant on the conceirge floor. Tried to warm him up twice-forget it-just bitter? He could not ruin an awesome time at a great hotel.

Room Tip: No pool-really?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear All4vacations,

Thank you for the great review; I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I apologize that our lounge attendant was not very friendly; this is very unusual and I will certainly look into this. I appreciate you letting us know.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back, and thank you for staying with us!

All my best,


Jeffrey Burg
Director of Operations
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

When you pull up to the hotel entrance, it is pretty awesome how close you are to PETCO Park. I happened to stay during opening weekend. That was a little crazy. There were roads that were blocked when we returned home around the end of the game. The people working at the hotel were definitely in the spirit. They were all dressed up in Padres jerseys. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The Altitude Lounge was nice with a beautiful view of the city. If you want to be in the HEART of Gaslamp, it's probably not the greatest, since it's a few blocks out. But, being that we weren't right in the middle of it, things were quiet after hours. And the walk into Gaslamp isn't terrible either. Overall, I was very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter

Address: 660 K Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village , Gaslamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#7 Green Hotel in San Diego
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully reinvented the ultra-stylish San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter has quickly become the premier luxury hotel in the heart of the lively Gaslamp Quarter. Adjacent to PETCO Park, Home of the San Diego Padres, and two blocks from the San Diego Convention Center. Boasting a sophisticated modern design and breathtaking Ocean, San Diego skyline and baseball park views, home to Soleil @k Restaurant, Latitude Lounge & ALTITUDE Sky Lounge our award winning open-air rooftop hotspot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Otel, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.