We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RA Sushi Bar Restaurant

RA Sushi Bar Restaurant
474 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)
(619) 321-0021
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
RA Sushi Bar Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #586 of 3,683 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Broadway at 5th Ave.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Food and service was beyond it all! Ambiance was super chic, food came out perfectly cooked and well plated. From walking in with the hostess to our server, everything was fab!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    57
    22
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Loved this sushi restaurant. We sat in the sushi bar area. Food and service was great and the atmosphere was fantastic. Could not fault this place. Would go back for more if we were visiting the area.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Happy Hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

GREAT happy hour-- drinks, aps, sushi. The calamari is long steak strips and is to die for! Park & validate at Horton Plaza :)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Not impressed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Great ambiance and service, but overall not impressed with the food or quality of product. Way expensive and leaves much to be desired.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Creative, and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

GREAT - Food
POOR - Ambiance, for reasons below

Found on TripAdvisor as I looked for a sushi restaurant near to my hotel. At 7:30pm on a Monday night there were a couple of families eating with kids, some with babies, a few other business folks and a few casual groups of friends. The DJ in the window was playing softly. But by 8:00pm the DJ was full-blown dance volume - which seemed really out of place with the clientele. An hour later the hipster crowd was coming to the bar for late happy hour.

So my issue here is that the loud dance music seemed a bit odd since nobody was dancing and so many folks were just eating. And maybe I'm getting old, but the DJ on a Thurs - Sat night seems reasonable, but Monday?

The food however was delicious. Everything was fresh, savory and different combinations than what I've had before, and reasonably priced. Service was good too. But, I was shouting to both the wait staff and my dinner partner by 9pm just to be heard.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RA Sushi Bar Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to RA Sushi Bar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RA Sushi Bar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.