We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to go wrong at World Curry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of World Curry

World Curry
1433 Garnet Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-3015 (Pacific Beach)
858-270-4455
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #586 of 3,977 restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hard to go wrong at World Curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Eating leftover green curry with chicken for lunch right now. Yum! We've been eating at WC for years and I can't recall a bad meal. Service is always friendly if not super prompt. We especially love the tikka masala, green, and panang curries and have tried most of the others with good results. We like medium spicy (I'd do more, but spouse isn't as fond). Curries probably aren't super authentic (I've never taken an Indian/Thai friend), but flavors are great! We live 20 miles away but sometimes nothing else will do and we have to head to PB for a curry fix.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    17
    7
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent, as long as you stay with curries.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

World Curry is wonderful, and an excellent value, as long as you stay with the great curries. Appetizers are lackluster, and usually overcooked and dry. Parking is also always a problem...but worth the trouble.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice curry selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Very nice place to get a good curry meal! They have a huge selection and you can choose whether you want ot with chicken, beef or vegetarian. Food quality is very good and the curry dishes are authentic.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worst food ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The food here was terrible. My husband and I ate here and it was so bad that we couldn't eat more than a few bites. Stay away.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, Arizona, USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Loved it...yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I know its not an indian restaurant but mixture of all asian foods. Been to so many Indian restaurants...Chicago and New York have some,,,and you can get real taste there as well. But this place..was excellent in food, not same type of taste or creamy sauce. I requested to make my food very spicy not mild. Gosh~~ it tasted so good...bad it was our last day in San Diego...but I loved the food with reasonable price

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World Curry also viewed

 

Been to World Curry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage World Curry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added World Curry to your Saves list