We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of World Curry

World Curry
1433 Garnet Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-3015 (Pacific Beach)
858-270-4455
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #250 of 3,728 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great food. Seating is limited but quaint. Order up on the spiciness. Extra hot is just so-so hot.
Love the garlic naan.
The service is standard PB fare...a handful of girls in a hurry to get off work and hit the bong.
Nice selection of asian beers.
The view is of Garnet ave and some tattoo parlors.
Atmosphere is ok, better for takout.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    14
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I love curry and was really looking forward to trying this new place. I was very disappointed. The curry dishes were very bland. The chicken was not white meat - but appeared to be leftover pieces and all dark meat. We ate almost none of the meat. Would not go back and would. It recommend it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

More like a take out place than a restaurant, but the currys are tasty. The Panang was great, the Masala good, but with an unusual combination of spices. We ordered medium strength, which was fairly mild. Nan was good - go for the ordinary nan, the garlic nan just had garlic butter added. Reasonable prices. Especially recommended for take out.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious...can't wait to go again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I should preface this by saying I'm NOT a huge curry fan...had a little too much of it in college. But my friend took me here and she didn't steer me wrong! That was the best curry I've had to date, and I can't wait to visit again! Friendly service and fun atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BEST EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

best curry ever! they have a very versatile menu, and everything we ate was FANTASTIC!!! very delicious and heaping portions.. all our appetizers were fantastic too

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World Curry also viewed

 

Been to World Curry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage World Curry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.