We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of World Curry

World Curry
1433 Garnet Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-3015 (Pacific Beach)
858-270-4455
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #324 of 4,125 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Tijuana, Mexico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great food. Seating is limited but quaint. Order up on the spiciness. Extra hot is just so-so hot.
Love the garlic naan.
The service is standard PB fare...a handful of girls in a hurry to get off work and hit the bong.
Nice selection of asian beers.
The view is of Garnet ave and some tattoo parlors.
Atmosphere is ok, better for takout.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I love curry and was really looking forward to trying this new place. I was very disappointed. The curry dishes were very bland. The chicken was not white meat - but appeared to be leftover pieces and all dark meat. We ate almost none of the meat. Would not go back and would. It recommend it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

More like a take out place than a restaurant, but the currys are tasty. The Panang was great, the Masala good, but with an unusual combination of spices. We ordered medium strength, which was fairly mild. Nan was good - go for the ordinary nan, the garlic nan just had garlic butter added. Reasonable prices. Especially recommended for take out.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious...can't wait to go again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I should preface this by saying I'm NOT a huge curry fan...had a little too much of it in college. But my friend took me here and she didn't steer me wrong! That was the best curry I've had to date, and I can't wait to visit again! Friendly service and fun atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“BEST EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

best curry ever! they have a very versatile menu, and everything we ate was FANTASTIC!!! very delicious and heaping portions.. all our appetizers were fantastic too

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World Curry also viewed

 

Been to World Curry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage World Curry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.