We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great Indian food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of World Curry

World Curry
1433 Garnet Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-3015 (Pacific Beach)
858-270-4455
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #470 of 4,041 restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Redmond, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not great Indian food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I took away naans and Kheema Masala from this restaurant on Christmas eve but was disappointed. The spice level was OK, but the composition was off. The naans were good but the Masala were a bit sweet and I didn't like it. The good part is that it's cheap and considering this is the only place where you can get decent Indian food in the area, one can definitely give it a try.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    19
    9
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Decent asian food. Naan was not good, but curry tasty.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Reasonable asian food in a nice restaurant environment, which was open to the outside. Naan was not worth ordering. Curry was tasty, but my wife and I both had headaches the next day so we wondered if they use MSG.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A* food amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011 via mobile

Myself and my partner visited this place as we where staying in the area and had read the reviews. The look of the place isn't to much and could do with an update but the food is amazing! We had the green curry which was the best I've ever had! The garlic bread is fresh and very full of flavour! Would definetly go back if in the area!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great curry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We come here frequently for dinner and always enjoy their variety of curries. The pumpkin curry, which is seasonal, is really good. We also recommend the naan bread.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Just walk inside - you will love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We have driven by this place literally thousands of times. Last week we finally stopped and we went again this week. From the front you wonder about going in. You get inside, sit down and think, this is really nice. Then the food comes...WOW, can't believe it took us so long to try it. So, if you get to Pacific Beach or live near by...GO! Try it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World Curry also viewed

 

Been to World Curry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage World Curry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.