We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent asian food. Naan was not good, but curry tasty.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of World Curry

World Curry
1433 Garnet Ave, San Diego, CA 92109-3015 (Pacific Beach)
858-270-4455
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #226 of 3,705 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Decent asian food. Naan was not good, but curry tasty.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Reasonable asian food in a nice restaurant environment, which was open to the outside. Naan was not worth ordering. Curry was tasty, but my wife and I both had headaches the next day so we wondered if they use MSG.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    14
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A* food amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Myself and my partner visited this place as we where staying in the area and had read the reviews. The look of the place isn't to much and could do with an update but the food is amazing! We had the green curry which was the best I've ever had! The garlic bread is fresh and very full of flavour! Would definetly go back if in the area!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great curry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We come here frequently for dinner and always enjoy their variety of curries. The pumpkin curry, which is seasonal, is really good. We also recommend the naan bread.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Just walk inside - you will love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We have driven by this place literally thousands of times. Last week we finally stopped and we went again this week. From the front you wonder about going in. You get inside, sit down and think, this is really nice. Then the food comes...WOW, can't believe it took us so long to try it. So, if you get to Pacific Beach or live near by...GO! Try it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
“Love the Curry, and the Garlic Naan bread is to die for..."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I have been living in San Diego for over 17 years, and I have been going to World Curry since they opened.

There have been many restaurants that have come and gone from PB, but World Curry has proven to be a great success. World Curry has consistently great food, and I especially love the galic naan. My favorite curry is the THAI MUSSAMAN with chicken and white rice, but many people really seem to love the Panang.

Also, I heard they are working on some sort of "curry tacos"! Can't wait to try them.

Finally, they have recently offered $2 Kingfisher pints which is crazy cheap.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World Curry also viewed

 

Been to World Curry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage World Curry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.