We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast on Mission Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mission

The Mission
2801 University Ave, San Diego, CA 92104
619-220-8992
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 4,093 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best breakfast on Mission Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Staying in San Diego for two weeks this summer, The Mission on Mission Beach quickly became our favourite breakfast spot. We loved the relaxed, warm atmosphere and good service. The breakfast menu was great. We especially enjoyed the Latino breakfast plates. Try the Mission Chilaquiles! The portions are generous and the food was always freshly prepared of good ingredients.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    73
    16
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lenexa, Kansas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Everything was excellent. I had the Roast Beef Hash and Eggs. The Beef was very tender and the rosemary potatoes were tasty. I also tried the French Toast, which was yummy too. Very nice artwork on the walls and the plates are artistically finished as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great good, great coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This place is awesome. If you are really into food and consider Starbux coffee mediocre, this is for you. I thought it was a touch pricey overall, specially for things like coffee and bacon, however the food was so delicious it took the sting out of the price. I highly recommend just note that if you get any sides or extras, they will likely be way overpriced.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“I love it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Excelent food!! Huevos vegetarianos con tamal lo mejor del mundo!! Pancakes was delicious and super bigg!!! Fresh coffee!! You gota go!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wow! What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Walked all the way from the Gas Lamp looking for good Mexican, based from Trip Advisor reviews. While I don't think Sthe Mission should be classified as "Mexican", I was not disappointed. The food was more than worth the 5 mile walk!!! The shrip wrap was to die for. The sesame ginger chicken wrap with Thai peanut sauce was equally delightful. I would highly reccomend this place to anyone!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mission also viewed

 

Been to The Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mission, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.