We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignored for 10 minutes” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rei Do Gado Restaurant

Rei Do Gado Restaurant
939 4th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6123 (Downtown)
+1 619-702-8464
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rei Do Gado Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #96 of 4,100 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Barbecue, Brazilian, South American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Broadway
Transit: A trolley station is located on B street. A bus stop is right across from Rei Do Gado.
Description: "Best Ethnic" 2014 CRA Golden Medallion Award The churrasco (Brazilian barbecue) is a traditional feast that has been celebrated in Brazil for centuries. It is a unique and healthy way of roasting meat over a mesquite flame that preserves tenderness and gives it a taste unmatched by any other. Guests of Rei do Gado will encounter an unlimited buffet of typical dishes and salads.
San Diego, California
1 review
“Ignored for 10 minutes”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My partner and I have been wanting to come here for dinner. With his sister in town we decided to try it out. Made a reservation for 530 on Sunday June 9th. Arrived at 5:20 greeted at the front door by a very polite hostess and was sat immediately. There we sat, ignored not even looked at as other wait staff walked by our table numerous times. The place was not busy at all. Plenty of empty tables. Plenty of wait staff walking around setting tables, standing at the bar chatting with each other.

Once we reached the 10 minute mark of still no hello, or ill be right with you, or here is some water ill be back to take your drink order....nothing. We decided to leave and take our money elsewhere. Upon walking by the front desk, I was asked by the hostess that sat us was everything ok, to which I replied no, we've not been helped and I asked her if I could speak to the manager. Another person said she would go get him. Then I waited again. While waiting for the manager one of the waiters asked what was wrong in which I replied after being ignored for 10 minutes we were leaving. He apologized and said please sit down and ill help you right away, to which I replied you yourself have walked by our table at least 3 times not one even looking our way....no thank you. Finally after about 5 min the manager appeared and asked what was wrong. Again repeating we have been ignored. He apologized and said oh no. Come sit now and ill comp our meal. I told him I wasn't interested in a free meal and was no longer interested in eating there, but I would be sure to mention my experience online. Won't go back

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    79
    26
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
YUMA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Carnivore Happiness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

After arriving too late for our reservation at another restaurant, we settled on Rei Do Gado for a meal before a play at the SD Civic Center. For my meat lover husband, any Brazilian steak house is good and so he was happy. I was impressed with the boneless chicken thighs in chimichuri--remarkably tender and not overdone. Filet mignon was nice, beef ribs too. One lamb skewer was a bit more well done than we would have liked but the next one was nice and rare.
What made Gado stand out though is the extensive 'salad bar.' Seafood, fruit, vegetables, Brazilian staples...I really enjoyed the variety and freshness.
Pricy on the weekend but I see that a weekday lunch is less than half the cost so that might be the perfect time to try it out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Brazilian Steak House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

This was our first experience at a Brazilian steak house. The service was excellent. They answered all of our questions about the different meats being served and were always ready for drinks and anything else we needed. The salad bar was a meal in itself so don't load up on it. I liked the fish soup fried yucca. Only downside was that the elevator was not working to take patrons to the bathroom. It is 2 flights down so it would be difficult for the disabled or elderly. The weekend lunch is the best value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Meat extremely overdone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our first time to eat at this restaurant. Service is excellent and the salad bar is extremely good. There are lots of salads already made and fresh shrimp and marinated mushrooms and guacamole and chips, etc. I was very disappointed in the meat. All but one meat was so dried out and flavorless that I could not chew it. All we were getting was the outside crust. After I complained they brought by some meat that was less overdone and I had two little pieces but it was not flavorful or tasty to stay and get other meat. I am not sure if it had been sitting around or they just overcook everything. The drinks were $10.00 each Considering it was 133.92 for two dinners and two drinks it was really really not worth it. It was a very disappointing dinner on our anniversary.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Brazilian Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I go to Rei do Gado every time we are in San Diego. Rose is awesome and the rest of the staff is just as amazing! The cuts of meat are simply delicious and we just love the atmosphere. The caipirinhas, filet wrapped in bacon and pao de queijo are our faves! Do yourself a favor and try it more than once!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rei Do Gado Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rei Do Gado Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rei Do Gado Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.