We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carnivore Happiness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rei Do Gado Restaurant

Rei Do Gado Restaurant
939 4th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6123 (Downtown)
+1 619-702-8464
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rei Do Gado Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #178 of 4,065 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Barbecue, Brazilian, South American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Broadway
Transit: A trolley station is located on B street. A bus stop is right across from Rei Do Gado.
Description: "Best Ethnic" 2014 CRA Golden Medallion Award The churrasco (Brazilian barbecue) is a traditional feast that has been celebrated in Brazil for centuries. It is a unique and healthy way of roasting meat over a mesquite flame that preserves tenderness and gives it a taste unmatched by any other. Guests of Rei do Gado will encounter an unlimited buffet of typical dishes and salads.
YUMA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Carnivore Happiness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

After arriving too late for our reservation at another restaurant, we settled on Rei Do Gado for a meal before a play at the SD Civic Center. For my meat lover husband, any Brazilian steak house is good and so he was happy. I was impressed with the boneless chicken thighs in chimichuri--remarkably tender and not overdone. Filet mignon was nice, beef ribs too. One lamb skewer was a bit more well done than we would have liked but the next one was nice and rare.
What made Gado stand out though is the extensive 'salad bar.' Seafood, fruit, vegetables, Brazilian staples...I really enjoyed the variety and freshness.
Pricy on the weekend but I see that a weekday lunch is less than half the cost so that might be the perfect time to try it out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    74
    25
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Brazilian Steak House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

This was our first experience at a Brazilian steak house. The service was excellent. They answered all of our questions about the different meats being served and were always ready for drinks and anything else we needed. The salad bar was a meal in itself so don't load up on it. I liked the fish soup fried yucca. Only downside was that the elevator was not working to take patrons to the bathroom. It is 2 flights down so it would be difficult for the disabled or elderly. The weekend lunch is the best value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Meat extremely overdone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our first time to eat at this restaurant. Service is excellent and the salad bar is extremely good. There are lots of salads already made and fresh shrimp and marinated mushrooms and guacamole and chips, etc. I was very disappointed in the meat. All but one meat was so dried out and flavorless that I could not chew it. All we were getting was the outside crust. After I complained they brought by some meat that was less overdone and I had two little pieces but it was not flavorful or tasty to stay and get other meat. I am not sure if it had been sitting around or they just overcook everything. The drinks were $10.00 each Considering it was 133.92 for two dinners and two drinks it was really really not worth it. It was a very disappointing dinner on our anniversary.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Brazilian Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I go to Rei do Gado every time we are in San Diego. Rose is awesome and the rest of the staff is just as amazing! The cuts of meat are simply delicious and we just love the atmosphere. The caipirinhas, filet wrapped in bacon and pao de queijo are our faves! Do yourself a favor and try it more than once!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

On week-ends the price is almost $50.00 per person and what you get for it is not worth the money. The variety is there but the food at the buffet was of uneven quality some being there for hours and not very appealing. The variety of the meats is good, but the quality is not consistent and average. I've been there several times before, and if you want to try this type of experience, I recommend you do it for lunch because of cost. For the cost the dessert is extra and the wines are over-priced ($10 for 1/3 glass.)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rei Do Gado Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rei Do Gado Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rei Do Gado Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;