We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat extremely overdone” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rei Do Gado Restaurant

Rei Do Gado Restaurant
939 4th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6123 (Downtown)
+1 619-702-8464
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rei Do Gado Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #126 of 3,722 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Brazilian, Barbecue, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Broadway
Transit: A trolley station is located on B street. A bus stop is right across from Rei Do Gado.
Description: "Best Ethnic" 2014 CRA Golden Medallion Award The churrasco (Brazilian barbecue) is a traditional feast that has been celebrated in Brazil for centuries. It is a unique and healthy way of roasting meat over a mesquite flame that preserves tenderness and gives it a taste unmatched by any other. Guests of Rei do Gado will encounter an unlimited buffet of typical dishes and salads.
California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Meat extremely overdone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our first time to eat at this restaurant. Service is excellent and the salad bar is extremely good. There are lots of salads already made and fresh shrimp and marinated mushrooms and guacamole and chips, etc. I was very disappointed in the meat. All but one meat was so dried out and flavorless that I could not chew it. All we were getting was the outside crust. After I complained they brought by some meat that was less overdone and I had two little pieces but it was not flavorful or tasty to stay and get other meat. I am not sure if it had been sitting around or they just overcook everything. The drinks were $10.00 each Considering it was 133.92 for two dinners and two drinks it was really really not worth it. It was a very disappointing dinner on our anniversary.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    104
    32
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yuma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Brazilian Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I go to Rei do Gado every time we are in San Diego. Rose is awesome and the rest of the staff is just as amazing! The cuts of meat are simply delicious and we just love the atmosphere. The caipirinhas, filet wrapped in bacon and pao de queijo are our faves! Do yourself a favor and try it more than once!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

On week-ends the price is almost $50.00 per person and what you get for it is not worth the money. The variety is there but the food at the buffet was of uneven quality some being there for hours and not very appealing. The variety of the meats is good, but the quality is not consistent and average. I've been there several times before, and if you want to try this type of experience, I recommend you do it for lunch because of cost. For the cost the dessert is extra and the wines are over-priced ($10 for 1/3 glass.)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
416 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A nice place to try once”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was a decent place to enjoy some nice cuts of meat, but way too noisy. Our initial cuts were done to perfection, spiced right, tender, and moist, but as the evening wore on they became salty and dry. The salad bar was top of the line, but you had to pick your timing to get to it or you couldn't get to it due to the crowd. All in all it was a nice place to try but I am not sure I would go back a second time as there are other area restaurants that can easily stand up to this one.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The food is excellent, they will serve you food until you want them to, and the service is great. Try the mojitos they are great!! The mojitos are freshly made and delicious worth every penny. This is a great date night restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rei Do Gado Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rei Do Gado Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rei Do Gado Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.