We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rei Do Gado Restaurant

Rei Do Gado Restaurant
939 4th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6123 (Downtown)
+1 619-702-8464
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rei Do Gado Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #96 of 4,100 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Barbecue, Brazilian, South American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Broadway
Transit: A trolley station is located on B street. A bus stop is right across from Rei Do Gado.
Description: "Best Ethnic" 2014 CRA Golden Medallion Award The churrasco (Brazilian barbecue) is a traditional feast that has been celebrated in Brazil for centuries. It is a unique and healthy way of roasting meat over a mesquite flame that preserves tenderness and gives it a taste unmatched by any other. Guests of Rei do Gado will encounter an unlimited buffet of typical dishes and salads.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

On week-ends the price is almost $50.00 per person and what you get for it is not worth the money. The variety is there but the food at the buffet was of uneven quality some being there for hours and not very appealing. The variety of the meats is good, but the quality is not consistent and average. I've been there several times before, and if you want to try this type of experience, I recommend you do it for lunch because of cost. For the cost the dessert is extra and the wines are over-priced ($10 for 1/3 glass.)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    79
    26
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“A nice place to try once”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was a decent place to enjoy some nice cuts of meat, but way too noisy. Our initial cuts were done to perfection, spiced right, tender, and moist, but as the evening wore on they became salty and dry. The salad bar was top of the line, but you had to pick your timing to get to it or you couldn't get to it due to the crowd. All in all it was a nice place to try but I am not sure I would go back a second time as there are other area restaurants that can easily stand up to this one.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Centro
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The food is excellent, they will serve you food until you want them to, and the service is great. Try the mojitos they are great!! The mojitos are freshly made and delicious worth every penny. This is a great date night restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Excellent food, close to tourist spots, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I am going to Rei do Gado each time I am in San Diego. Great salad bar, very good meat selection, great drink selection. Nice atmosphere, quiet enough to have conversations. A girl walked around in a carnival costume, which was a nice picture opportunity. Great for business dinners, no need to wait to place orders etc. They can deal with large crowds. Will go back next time when I am in San Diego.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento, ca
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Carnivore's delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were part of a large lunch group here. You will either really like this place or not think much of it.

For starters, the bar is not great. And several of our orders were mixed up. The servers did a better job serving food than serving drinks. The Salad bar was AWESOME. Several different types of salads and appetizers to choose from. You could fill up on that but then you miss out on the main purpose of eating here.... MEAT. I would agree with other reviews that the meats offered were not fantastic but they were filling. I would say, stay away from the short ribs... not very tastey. There were a total of 9 different meat selections offered. The best in our opinion was the ham and pineapple on a spic. They bring several selections for you to try and yes, they can be frugel. Just ask for more!

This can be an expensive place to eat. You get a much better deal at lunch time. Load up on a late lunch and you can be filled for the rest of the day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rei Do Gado Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rei Do Gado Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rei Do Gado Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.