We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super fresh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Loma Seafoods

Point Loma Seafoods
2805 Emerson St, San Diego, CA 92106-2716
619-223-1109
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 4,100 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Super fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

While visiting San Diego and staying in the Point Loma area, we wanted to have some good seafood. TripAdvisor informed us of Point Loma Seafoods in the area. This place was not what we were expecting because it's a restaurant as well as a shop to buy fresh fish and seafood. Both my husband and I ordered the fish and chips and they were delicious. You could tell the fish was super fresh. I wish I lived here because I think I would buy fresh seafood here everyday. We went at night, but during the day I'm sure there are nice views from the deck.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    164
    73
    28
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great stop after Cabrillo National Monument”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had a great time at Cabrillo National Monument and asked someone for a place to stop for lunch on our way back to San Diego. They recommended Point Loma Seafoods which was an easy drive from Cabrillo. When we pulled up, we almost left The parking lot was full and we really didn't want to wait to eat. Fortunately we found street parking just a few block away. The place was packed!! We didn't know it was self-service, but that was fine and simply added to the character of the place. We got in line, grabbed a seat outside watching the beautiful boats in the bay and our number was promptly called. The fish fry was great and we really enjoyed the beautiful outside setting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Read reviews and was a bit apprehensive about going. But recommended by two people that live here. Parking was no problem, friendly and patient with us when ordering. Great view from the upper deck.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Excellent food - my wife and 3 kids enjoyed the food we bought - clam chowder, rolls, jumbo shrimp cocktail & fish and shrimp plates. We also went back a second time to purchase fresh seafood - halibut, grouper, scallops and sashimi-grade salmon as our hotel had a small kitchen - really fresh seafood.
Good location - watching the yachts and enjoying the sea-breeze. Get outside seating!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A true disappointment with what used to be a sure bet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

It used to be much better. Now, the bread that it is used for the sandwiches is horrible and everything is pretty much fried and tasteless. It is also overpriced. Perhaps the management changed? The food was immensely better before the renovations, it used to be one of my favorite seafood places in San Diego. I am truly disappointed...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Loma Seafoods also viewed

 

Been to Point Loma Seafoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Loma Seafoods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.