We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop after Cabrillo National Monument” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Loma Seafoods

Point Loma Seafoods
2805 Emerson St, San Diego, CA 92106-2716
619-223-1109
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 4,043 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great stop after Cabrillo National Monument”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had a great time at Cabrillo National Monument and asked someone for a place to stop for lunch on our way back to San Diego. They recommended Point Loma Seafoods which was an easy drive from Cabrillo. When we pulled up, we almost left The parking lot was full and we really didn't want to wait to eat. Fortunately we found street parking just a few block away. The place was packed!! We didn't know it was self-service, but that was fine and simply added to the character of the place. We got in line, grabbed a seat outside watching the beautiful boats in the bay and our number was promptly called. The fish fry was great and we really enjoyed the beautiful outside setting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    152
    70
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Read reviews and was a bit apprehensive about going. But recommended by two people that live here. Parking was no problem, friendly and patient with us when ordering. Great view from the upper deck.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Excellent food - my wife and 3 kids enjoyed the food we bought - clam chowder, rolls, jumbo shrimp cocktail & fish and shrimp plates. We also went back a second time to purchase fresh seafood - halibut, grouper, scallops and sashimi-grade salmon as our hotel had a small kitchen - really fresh seafood.
Good location - watching the yachts and enjoying the sea-breeze. Get outside seating!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A true disappointment with what used to be a sure bet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

It used to be much better. Now, the bread that it is used for the sandwiches is horrible and everything is pretty much fried and tasteless. It is also overpriced. Perhaps the management changed? The food was immensely better before the renovations, it used to be one of my favorite seafood places in San Diego. I am truly disappointed...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Street, Michigan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Would have eaten here everyday, if we had discovered it sooner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is not a place to go for a romantic meal or for a sense of privacy while you are dining. It is a place to go if you love seafood! There is an extensive selection of fresh seafood to take home and cook. Too bad that we did not have that ability, because many of the selections, including the New Zealand Green Mussels, looked amazing.

When dinning in, you walk-up to the market counter, after making your selection from the large menu hanging above, and place your order. Like a fast food restaurant, you are given a number which will be called over a loud speaker when it is available for pick-up at the counter.

You can sit inside or out, either on an upper deck overlooking the harbor or an outdoor patio that reminded me somewhat of an A&W Restaurant.

I wanted to be adventurous and try eel, but they were all out. When asked what I wanted instead, who knows why California Roll came out of my mouth? Maybe because it was the closest item on the menu? I've tried various forms of Sushi many times, in many locations, and have hated it each time. I quickly ordered a side of fries, so that I would have something to eat with the Sushi I was destined to hate again.

Au contraire! The California Rolls were a delightful combination of fresh, light ingredients whose flavors complimented each other and melted in my mouth. No overpowering seaweed taste. No stale, clumpy rice. No bad fish taste mixed with unidentifiable other tastes. Just a melt in your mouth essence of the sea and no fishy aftertaste.

The fries were very good, also, and we always appreciate malt vinegar as an available condiment.

My husband deemed his cod as, "The best I've ever tasted." He didn't say much else, as he was too busy eating and smiling.

If we had not arrived so close to closing, which is at 7 PM every evening, I'm sure that we would have made pigs of ourselves and ordered more food. The dilemma would have been whether to get more of the same or try something different from the extensive menu.

Wish that we would have tried this place earlier, instead of our last day in San Diego.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Loma Seafoods also viewed

 

Been to Point Loma Seafoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Loma Seafoods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.