We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and enjoyed the food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Panevino

Osteria Panevino
722 5th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6918 (Downtown)
619-595-7959
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Osteria Panevino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #472 of 4,093 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $30 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: On 5th between F & G
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great service and enjoyed the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had a party of 6, including our young 12 year old friend and her grandparents who are 88 and 92 respectively. A wide range of culinary tastes, but there was something for everyone to enjoy. We were seated promptly - our waitress was attentive, making sure we had drinks, menu's and anything else we needed. Food was served in a timely manner: Our 12 year old guest, who loves ceasar salads, pronounced with surety that "this is the best ceasar salad I've ever had" our main dishes included a couple of specials for the evening, the sea bass with a spicy red sauce which my better half enjoyed; and a risotto with clams, mussels & shrimp in a creamy garlic sauce - the lobster ravioli; potato gniochi and the bowtie pasta were devoured by all. I had the canole for desert, it was wonderful.

We will be returning for sure - a nice find in the heart of the Gas Lamp!

\

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    72
    23
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian Food in San D”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Coming from an Italian family I find it hard to find great italian food when I go out. but this place had the goods. And the service was a++++. we were really disappointed to see a couple beside us leave after a few minutes when they didnt recieve their menus, they may have been a couple of minutes slower giving the menus but that is because you get the great spiel to go with it, just like you do in italy. and that couple REALLY missed out because of their impatience. Osteria Panevino was a great little find on a saturday night on our last trip to San Diego and we'll be heading back there on our next trip in October.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Italian food ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

From appetizer to dessert, the food and service was excellent! Nice patio seating. Best spinach ravioli I've ever had!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The best meal we had in San Diego. We eat out a great deal and I can say this is one of the better meals I have had in recent memory. The service was excellent and the atmosphere was good. The pricing was also competitive. I highly recommend this place.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatonton, Georgia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great food sitting outside watching the people on the street. What could be better than that? A great staff to compliment the evening. Oso Buco was outstanding.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Panevino also viewed

 

Been to Osteria Panevino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Panevino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.