We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great after work meeting place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant

Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant
5010 Mission Center Rd, San Diego, CA 92108-3211 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)
619-688-1120
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #603 of 4,093 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Orlando
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great after work meeting place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Recently visited the Mission Valley location for dinner. As would be expected, there a many handcrafted beers, all of high quality. We dined on appetizers, and the variety was above average. This is large facility, and handles the volume well. The bar area is excellent with the back drop of the bar, opening on to an outdoor patio/dining area, with bar service on the exterior side as well. Would highly recommend this anytime!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    33
    13
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head Island
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Setting for a Business lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We sat at the bar - a large high-top that was comfortable and roomy for 4. We did not partake in any of their beers or wines, but the choices were plentiful.

Our group ate sandwiches, salads, and soup and all of it was fresh and tasty. They also have many heavier entrees on the menu, plus they had seasonal offerings that looked very good.

The noise level was fine, meaning that we could have a business conversation without any extra effort. It was also a well-timed meal, no long waits for our food or the check - so perfect for a quick/efficient meal.

I would certainly go back and would recommend this as a very good business lunch place.

BTW - the dinner menu looked good, so I would also be willing to try it for a more extensive dining experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This almost seemed like a hidden gem. While I wasn't necessarily excited about anything with "Brewery" attached to it, I was pleasantly surprised. The inside atmosphere was classy, but not uppity. It wasn't crowded. The service was near perfect for me.

Not the cheapest restaurant, but the value really is there. Their drink menu is unique and large. For those insisting on avoiding balk-worthy prices, their happy hour starts at 10P.M. and includes all specialty drinks and a large array of appetizers. The food was also great and original.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Upscale Tavern”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

In short, this is an upscale tavern; there's lots of fatty fried food - too much for anyone looking for healthier and lighter fare. Indeed, their signature dish is 'garlic flavored french fries!' It's also pricey for a tavern. The restaurant menu and the online menu don't match. Ambiance and waiter get high marks but, in my opinion, it's a better place for a beer than a meal. The beer is pricey too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good food, soemtimes....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We dined here twice during a business trip to San Diego recently. had the mushroom burger the 1st night and that was a waste - tasteless. Had a mixed appy plate the next time and it was fantastic. Service was always quite good and friendly. Anything's better than hotel food. Would return again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.