We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burgers?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dick's Last Resort Restaurant

Dick's Last Resort Restaurant
345 Fourth Ave, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)
(619) 231-9100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dick's Last Resort Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,180 of 4,044 restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $1 - $35
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: J street and K Street
Transit: San Diego Trolley - Convention Center / Gaslamp
Mission Viejo, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Burgers?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Took my son to San Diego to take in a Padre's Game for his 21st birthday. We went to Dick's to get a burger and brew. The bartender told us no BURGERS after 2pm, really!?! The bartender was real nice and said she was sorry. Had a beer and left and will not be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

48% Recommend
    26
    62
    65
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“this is no normal bar :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

this bar is so funny
it dose every thing it should not do
and you will end up having a paper hat on from the waitress
of what she thinks of you
on it.
this place is a must for a creaming night out

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“insults are on the house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This place is not for those who get offended easily, if your looking for a watering hole where you can have a good time with your friends and the staff and drop the f word every other sentence then you have found your next happy hour spot. They make absurd chef hats with funny comments and place them on your head. The staff really get into character...sometime i think they really are [--]. Food is ok and drinks are moderately prices, but most people come for the fun. Great place to go with friends....oh if you have friends who turn into fight club when they get drunk, do not i repeat DO NOT bring them here. San Diego's Finest is right out side the door.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santee, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dick's Last Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Had a birthday for my daughter and she had a great experience. The food was good, it is noisy but it fits the environment.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Food with a Sarcastic Flare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was my first trip to San Diego and had heard great things about Dick's. Expecting sarcastic interactions, and rude white paper hats, with the staff and was disappointed. Started out great with hostess and initially with our waiter, but very little interaction with our waiter after our initial order. Never offered refills on drink and had to flag down the guy to get our check. Dropped the check then disappeared again. Food and drink were tasty and well worth the money spent, but general service was lacking. And definitely not the rudeness/sarcasm we expected, at least from our waiter.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dick's Last Resort Restaurant also viewed

Been to Dick's Last Resort Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dick's Last Resort Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.