We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“insults are on the house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dick's Last Resort Restaurant

Dick's Last Resort Restaurant
345 Fourth Ave, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)
(619) 231-9100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dick's Last Resort Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,171 of 4,094 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $1 - $35
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: J street and K Street
Transit: San Diego Trolley - Convention Center / Gaslamp
Northridge, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“insults are on the house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This place is not for those who get offended easily, if your looking for a watering hole where you can have a good time with your friends and the staff and drop the f word every other sentence then you have found your next happy hour spot. They make absurd chef hats with funny comments and place them on your head. The staff really get into character...sometime i think they really are [--]. Food is ok and drinks are moderately prices, but most people come for the fun. Great place to go with friends....oh if you have friends who turn into fight club when they get drunk, do not i repeat DO NOT bring them here. San Diego's Finest is right out side the door.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    72
    68
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santee, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dick's Last Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Had a birthday for my daughter and she had a great experience. The food was good, it is noisy but it fits the environment.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Food with a Sarcastic Flare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was my first trip to San Diego and had heard great things about Dick's. Expecting sarcastic interactions, and rude white paper hats, with the staff and was disappointed. Started out great with hostess and initially with our waiter, but very little interaction with our waiter after our initial order. Never offered refills on drink and had to flag down the guy to get our check. Dropped the check then disappeared again. Food and drink were tasty and well worth the money spent, but general service was lacking. And definitely not the rudeness/sarcasm we expected, at least from our waiter.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Great Place, except for food, service & drinks. Not!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

The top draw here is the purposely rude service. Don't take it seriously, the service is excellent and the staff is attentive underneath the comedy veneer. Push back and get them going, everyone will have a great time. The tone is definitely "adult", R-rated, so leave Grandma home. As I told them, "If it weren't for the food, the service and the drinks, this place would be great." Which was right up their alley. Of course I mean just the opposite.

The decor is "crowded frat house" and the patio is very nice. A casual atmosphere.

The menu is basic pub grub, well-executed. Beer selection is excellent. Prices reasonable.

I give them five stars since the comedy effect exceeded my expectations for a pub lunch on the patio.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, OK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“It's fun if you know in advance that the wait staff is rude.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The food was surprisingly good. The wait staff was very rude and I was surprised at first but had fun with the guy. Be prepared to give back what they dish out.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dick's Last Resort Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dick's Last Resort Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dick's Last Resort Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.