We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Cuisine in North San Diego” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BernardO

BernardO
12457 Rancho Bernardo Rd., San Diego, CA 92128
858-487-7171
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
BernardO is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #209 of 4,093 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pomerado Road
Transit: Bus stop across the street.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 192 cities Reviews in 192 cities
411 helpful votes 411 helpful votes
“French Cuisine in North San Diego”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

After frequenting this restaurant for more than twenty years, it is time to write a review and give some praise to Bernard, the ever present host-owner. Easily found on a busy intersection of major roads in Rancho Bernardo, the restaurant with bar is easily found. Ample free off-street parking is on site. The interior is cozy, tables with white linens are nicely spaced apart, and the service is attentive. While the standard menu offers a great selection of items to choose, on special occasions a treat is available in addition, such as wild boar and venison during the Christmas season. Wines by the glass are good and priced as a profit center, as is the norm these days. All in all, one can't go wrong selecting this restaurant for a pleasant evening with French food, consumed with someone dear or friends in pleasant surroundings.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    9
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great service, awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We used a Living Social deal at the time, knowing we were going to be in this area for vacation, and were glad we did.
They were very attentive and the service was great. For the appetizer we had the mushroom ravioli and it was so decadent. For the entree, my boyfriend ordered the Prosciutto Wrapped Chicken Breast. He loved it. I had the Seared Scallops. The scallops were cooked perfectly. Only another restaurant in Boston has cooked scallops so nicely for me. We were very happy with all our choices.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Delicious food, incredible service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is such a great place for French cuisine. The chef does a nice job with everything, but the scallops and mushroom ravioli remain my favorites. The bread is fresh and warm and I am never disappointed with my choices.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The good old days at this French neighborhood restaurant are over.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Went for their surf and turf special last night and found the lobster chewy and overcooked. I told the waiter who said " oh really" and then said he will see if the cook can get me a prawn as the lobsters were already reserved for others. Well I got the smallest prawn in the world. That was it; I was so disappointed in the way the handled this. Will not be going back.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Ooo La La”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Despite being in a little strip mall in the upscale Rancho Bernardo suburban area to the north of San Diego, don't let that fool you. This place is a GEM. The host....Bernard...found the perfect place to open a restaurant. I enjoyed a delicious Bouillabaisse and my wife had some fabulous seared scallops. Great service and an extensive wine list made the evening perfect. Yummy ! Try it...you'll like it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BernardO also viewed

 

Been to BernardO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BernardO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.