We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty legit dimsum!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China Max

China Max
4698 Convoy St. Ste 101, San Diego, CA 92111
858-650-3333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #794 of 3,725 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty legit dimsum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Hard to find good dimsum sometimes, so this was pretty authentic. WIshed they had food carts though - that would have added to the authenticity of the experience.

Egg tarts were alright, most of the food were OK, more details here: http://inagoodfoodmood.wordpress.com/2013/01/13/china-max-san-diego/

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
705 reviews
419 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,395 helpful votes
“Very good dim but.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I've been to several Chinese places on Convoy. Typically I don't even read reviews and just go by what looks good and crowded. But today I was meeting a friend for lunch and he mentioned he has been here before and it's pretty good. I haven't had dim sum in a while as I usually just go with entrees but it was pretty good and fresh.

The only complaint I'd have is the service isn't that great. I asked for a water and coke a few times and it took a while to get a water and I finally gave up on the Coke. They don't speak English too well here, which actually I don't mind. That's typically always a plus when eating at an Asian place. But the slow service of not bringing a drink after you ask a few times is never good.

But the food was pretty good and I'd definitely come back based on this meal. The place was pretty crowded with Asians which is also a good sign in a Chinese place.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, AZ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Super Fresh Dim Sum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Had a fantastic lunch here last week. Ordered Dim Sum off a list and it arrived fresh, hot and very tasty. The flavors were great and the look of the shrimp was especially good. It's in an average looking strip mall place, but who cares. We're going for the food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Dim Sum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit and it was just as good as the first. I don't know the names of the dishes we had but all I can say is the shrimp and chives combo was great. The custard pastry was excellent. Definitely will come back again

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Peking Duck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Authentic Chinese food. The Peking Duck was amazing. The atmosphere is family centered with many Asian families enjoying dinner together. A bit expensive but the quality and freshness of the food was worth it. Went with an 89 year old San Diego resident. When asked what she wanted to eat her response was, "Is there anything else beside Peking Duck?" Obviously, a long time favorite of hers even to her favorite table. Customer service is OK.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Max also viewed

 

Been to China Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Max, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.