We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A New Twist to Cuban Cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embargo Grill

Embargo Grill
3960 W Point Loma Blvd., San Diego, CA 92110
+1 619-786-7522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 3,683 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Tampa, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A New Twist to Cuban Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Their grilled dishes are light & available in a large variety. The cuban sandwich was amongst the best that I have ever had. That is after living in Miami for 6yrs. Added bonus, it is reasonably priced!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudi E, Owner at Embargo Grill, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Barbara S.,

Thanks for the awesome review and wonderful words, we appreciate it as well as your business.
We look forward to providing you with another great experience very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    7
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A taste of Cuba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Wonderful little Latin-Caribbean shop with personal service and a taste of Cuba. The pulled-pork Mixto sandwiches are outstanding, and the Cafe' Cubano espresso is very good. Normally you wouldn't find this fair outside of Cuba or South Florida, but it's right here...I try to go once a week.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudi E, Owner at Embargo Grill, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Donster2147,

Thanks for the kind words and great review. Looking forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Unique flavor combinations and great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for another restaurant in the strip center but came upon the embargo grill accidentally. The flavor combinations were great, the price was reasonable, service was excellent. We were just visiting the area but if we lived nearby it would be one of our favorite hangouts.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudi E, Owner at Embargo Grill, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you! We are happy you discovered us and welcome you back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“great caribbean food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This place has wonderful choices at reasonable prices in a relaxed atmosphere. The service was friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudi E, Owner at Embargo Grill, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you! We really appreciate the feedback and love bringing Caribbean food to San Diego. See you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I used to think I didn't like Cuban food. It turns out I just hadn't had the good stuff yet. This restaurant was a fantastic surprise and I'm extremely glad to have found it.

Every ingredient in every dish I've had here sings on its own - They're all cooked perfectly and assembled together promptly when you order them. I personally love the sandwiches, especially the Ropa Vieja, but the mixed plates are also great.

Save room for dessert, too. The bread pudding is some of the best I've had anywhere in the world.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudi E, Owner at Embargo Grill, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Ed,

It was our pleasure surprising you! Thanks for the awesome review. Glad you enjoyed it all and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Embargo Grill also viewed

 

Been to Embargo Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embargo Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.