We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great dessert and good coffee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Zinc - CLOSED

Cafe Zinc
132 South Cedros Ave., San Diego, CA 92075
858-793-5436
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $10
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food, great dessert and good coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Zinc is a good place to go to when the weather is nice, because you can sit outside and enjoy the warm weather and sunshine. The food is very good (frittatas and egg salad are excellent) and the desserts are quite tasty too. The prices are a bit too high (in my opionion), but the quality of the food is worth it.
Since it is located on Cedros in Solana Beach, you can walk along the design district, do some shopping (or window shopping, as I do) and then get a good meal. It can be too crowded during the tourist season, so I as a local tend to stay away during that time (unless I am meeting friends there), but I try to make it to Zinc as much as I can the rest of the year.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional Cafe! Go Early.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The food here has so much flavor. Amazing what they do in such a small cafe.

Not a place for animal proteins, but so delicious and lots of variety. Soups, salads, sandwiches, pizzas -- specials run out fast and are worth return visits, and desserts. Crazy good Creme Brûlée. Very good Gluten Free Pizzas too.

Parking is difficult to find because it in the Design District street so plan to walk a little, and then relax in the outdoor dining area.

Have eaten here often over the years.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
162 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great Latte”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I go back again and again for the great lattes...never eaten there, though. Vibe is friendly and relaxed..and.if you're taking the train, build in some extra time to chill at Zinc...

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really good breakfast place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Coffee, eggs and great scones. Outdoor seating if you like. Beautiful people eat here.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best natural foods served in a tasty, yummy way.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

A friend invited myself and my housegest to the Zinc Cafe & Market; this one is in Corona Del Mar and they and Solana Beach are the same owner and same food so it's relevant. First of all, it's a darling place on the main part of downtown with adequate parking in front of and on the side of the building. It's spartan and Zen like in it's configuration and furnishing which makes the food the centerpiece. Many wonderful combinations of healthy vegetables are served cooked and raw and they also have a fabulous foccacio like pizza thing that's delicious.There are some great desserts that are unusual but great! The prices are reasonable and it's a homey and comfy place where you can go back and try more things if you like. The service is excellent and I would go back more if I lived closer....highly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Zinc also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Zinc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.