We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All I can say is WOW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe on Park

Cafe on Park
3831 Park Blvd, San Diego, CA 92103-3609
(619) 293-7275
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #598 of 3,683 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Californian, Delicatessen, Diner
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
1 review
“All I can say is WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Me and my wife got the number four burger for lunch and it was delicious they give you a huge portions it's a little bit pricey but you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    19
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast/Lunch - Very Noisy and Loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Living in the neighborhood, we have been to this restaurant several times. The food is good, not great. The portions are huge and you will probably not be able to eat it all. We went on a Saturday at almost at noon. There was no wait to get seated but the place was full. They have added on a 2nd section since being there last time so that is probably the reason there was no line to get seated.

The most annoying thing was how loud and shrill it was inside the place. It was hard to talk to the person across from you. Everything in the place is steel and concrete so the sound is very loud and echos, you can hear everyone trying to talk louder so they can be heard. By the time we got out our ears were ringing. Not sure how the waiters can take this all day. I've certainly have a headache if I were them.

If you are looking for a nice cozy, quiet, relaxing place to eat, this is not the place. Will not be going back there again. There are some better restaurants in the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The breakfast here was huge and delicious. I went with three other people, and we all ordered something different and everyone loved their meal! Service was speedy and friendly and the food was a perfect start to a busy San Diego day. It is true that the only parking is street parking, so bring quarters. I am definitely a lover of breakfast and this is a place I will go back to next time I am in San Diego.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Better than average...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We went to this spot before heading over to Balboa Park and it was better than average. The parking situation sucked, bring change for the meters, a local let me know that i should be cautious because i would get ticketed if we ran out of time... We had 1 hour. I think we got lucky because when we arrived we might have waited 3 minutes before being seated, if you got kids you'll be ok, we even had a stroller and managed to park it in there.

Food and coffee came out quickly, I got the Blue Berry pancakes, eggs, and potatoes, my wife got the Mexican Hash. She liked hers, I liked mine too, like i said its better than average, not amazing though. I'm glad we went, it was a cool experience, but I don't think we'll make the effort to go again on another visit. I also wouldn't wait an hour in line for this place either. Overall it's worth a try if you've never been, but once will be enough for me... and yes we got outa there within the hour...

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Food and the Coffe!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Loved the local vibe of the cafe. You can stop here and enjoy breakfast. We had a variety of plates and all were well reviewed by my family!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe on Park also viewed

 
San Diego, CA
 

Been to Cafe on Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe on Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.