We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy as usual!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antique Row Cafe

Antique Row Cafe
3002 Adams Ave, San Diego, CA 92116-1501
619-282-9750
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #201 of 4,168 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Delicatessen
Restaurant details
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Yummy as usual!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Took relatives from Texas for lunch before they left, the food and service were both great! We hadn't been there in a while, but will definitely go back soon! Only downside is long wait on weekends, but go during the week and it's not so bad. Always have interesting specials!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fun 1950's/60's diner on trendy Adams Ave in San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

On weekends for breakfast plan for a line as it's a popular place. This is a yummy food kind of place with fun decor. Many booths, tables and outdoor patio seating. Lots to choose from the menu. I enjoy breakfasts there best but lunch and dinners are good too. Reasonable pricing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A-MAZ-ING....service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We did have to wait a few minutes for a table (there were 6 of us), but once seated, the service, thanks to our server Brooke, was fabulous!! You really can't beat the food here. Portions are incredibly generous, and they are always consistent. Parking can be a bit of a problem, but we scored and found a spot on the street right in front.
Their breakfasts are phenomenol!! Just SO much food!!!
Have been coming here for years....and will continue to do so!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous home-cooked breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Recently met with a colleague for breakfast at the Antique Row Cafe. Loved the atmosphere/decor...as we settled into our seats, our waitress promptly welcomed us with offers of coffee and drinks. The attentiveness continued throughout our stay and our cups never went dry without her or someone else stepping up to refill. Then there was breakfast itself - WOW!! The Lumberjack was beyond belief! A throw-back to classic hearty breakfasts...eggs to order, fried potatoes, biscuits all SMOTHERED with a thick creamy sausage gravy like my mom used to make. Ok, maybe its not for everyone, but my colleague had some MEGA omelette that looked delicious. The extensive menu made me want to come back again - which I will!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, CA
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
551 helpful votes 551 helpful votes
“Great Breakfasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

The Antique Row Cafe has to rate as one of the best, down home diners in San Diego. There is nothing fancy about it, just heaps of good American comfort food.

I tend to order off the daily specials board, but when I want a great chicken fried steak, this is my go to place.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antique Row Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Antique Row Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antique Row Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.