We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+ for Hotel Solamar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early + Save 10%
Ranked #49 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“A+ for Hotel Solamar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I am a frequent business traveler and regularly stay at different hotels. I can’t say enough great things about my recent stay at Hotel Solamar. Being the best experience I’ve had in a while, I think what set Hotel Solamar apart from other hotels was the amazing and friendly staff. Everything was phenomenal from the moment I arrived, including the room and restaurants.

One of the evenings, I enjoyed a dinner poolside on the terrace at LOUNGEsix where I was provided with world class service by Natalie. She may have been the best server I have ever had, and is a perfect example of why I will return to Hotel Solamar.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Solamar, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hello David C,

We give you an A+ for this review! Love it! It makes me so happy to see our customer service shine. We really appreciate the feedback and hope to see you back next time business brings you to San Diego!

Justin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    455
    119
    64
    28
See reviews for
174
605
85
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Hotel Solamar, Cool Boutique Hotel with a Great Location

I just attended San Diego Comic Con and was lucky enough to score a room at the Hotel Solamar, a Kimpton Hotel. My plane arrived early and I got to the hotel long before check in time. Feeling tired after the long plane ride, I was pleasantly surprised when they gave me a key to my hotel room right away. That earned them one very grateful guest. Located at 435 6th Avenue, it was a convenient three block walk to the San Diego Convention Center. Shops and restaurants were also within walking distance.

The first room they gave me was in the back of the hotel and featured a view of a yellow construction crane, which was not what I had in mind for a view out the window of my San Diego hotel. I called guest services and they immediately relocated me to a room in the front of the hotel overlooking the pool and outdoor area. It was a much better view but I was unaware the space was also used for outdoor parties. One of the parties was the premiere for the movie the Sharknado 2, the noise wasn’t that bad but it was still noticeable.

The hotel is very environmentally conscious; for example, there are little notes in different places in the room giving you the option of selecting eco-friendly practices such as reusing your towels. The room was comfortable and modern through a bit dark for my taste. The bed was comfortable. Strangely, I couldn’t get any sound on the flat screen TV. And yes, I tried the mute button. I called down about it and was told it would be fixed when I got back to the room but wasn’t and I had to ask again the next day.

Since my primary focus was attending San Diego Comic Con I did not get to use many of the hotels features. The pool looked great and was located right next the bar. There is also an on-site fitness center. I was invited to the hotels complimentary nightly wine tasting but was unable to attend. Internet is available in your room but there is a fee. I was happy that my surface tablet fit in the in room safe with plenty of room for other items.

There is not a business center but there is a desk with a computer and printer where you can print your boarding pass.

The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel do not offer views as nice as the front of the hotel. However, rooms...
See more room tips
Green Features: I like that this hotel provides environmentally conscious options.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Solamar, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hi
Thanks for the great review. We’re glad you enjoyed the hotel and location. We hope to see you back next Comic-Con!

Justin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This hotel is clearly geared toward the party crowd. There were several large groups here come to party and have a good time... which is wonderful unless you're hoping for a nice, clean place to stay. The staff and housekeeping were clearly geared toward serving that scene, because the place was filthy, smelled like a bar, and the staff responded with about the same urgency or care that you would with careless drunks. We had to beg for our room to be cleaned at 4:00 one day. The towels were all full of holes and rips, and the bath products were so awful, we ran to CVS for some Suave! Also, half of the hotel faces construction, which begins at 6:00 am each morning- including the weekends. They're on the ground floor of construction of what appears to be a space for a 20 story building, so expect that noise issue to continue well into 2015. If you are a bachelor or bachelorette party and looking for a place to let loose, this is your scene. If you plan to be at all aware of your surroundings and don't want to be accosted in the elevator by a naked, drunk bachelor, think twice before booking this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Solamar, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hello C Y,

Looks like we let you down and I am sorry to hear that. I’d really like the opportunity to discuss your stay in more depth. I’ve left a private message with you.
Best Regards,
Justin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I was in town for the San Diego 1/2 Marathon. The hotel was perfectly situated for our race needs. Roof top pool was a great place to relax, staff was friendly, room was comfortable, location was perfect! We stayed 5 nights and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Solamar, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hello kentuckygirl125,

Thanks for this amazing review! Glad you got to relax after the marathon at our awesome pool and lounge. Come back and see us soon!

Justin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had a great stay at this hotel when visiting San Diego. Excellent hotel. Very nice roof-top pool with poolbar (food and drinks). A lot of nice restaurants within walking distance. (like cafe 21). Walking distance to San Diego convention centre, ferry to Coranado Island and Petro Park baseball stadium. Complementary wine and beer tasting in the afternoon. (Expensive valet paring at $40, but we left the car at the airport before arriving the hotel.)

Dog friendly hotel (if you travel with dogs).

Room Tip: Do not get a room at the same floor as the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Solamar, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hello Fahlvik,

Thanks for the 5 Star review! We’re happy you enjoyed the hotel and our location. Café 21 is one of my favs too! Come back and see us soon.

Justin
Assistant General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We went to San Diego to see out daughter and enjoy a beautiful city. We checked trip advisor for good hotels in the gaslamp district.
Wow! Did we hit pay dirt. The Solamar is not the most elegant end all hotel we ever stayed at. The decor is average although very clean and to get an elevator takes quite a wait sometimes.
Solamar is in the heart of the action. Very close to Petco park and about a zillion great places for entertainment!
Our room was very comfortable and clean. The decor was early confusion but lent well to its great esthetics. You would expect a little outré from a great boutique hotel.
The plus to this hotel is the staff. You are treated with courtesy and concern for your comfort the minute you enter. There was a 5 until 6 wine and snack each night and free coffee 24/7.
Nothing was ever a problem for the staff . The hotel was spotless and getting around the city was a cinch because of its great location.
I find great boutique hotel such as Solamar thrive because of their commitment to great great service.
I plan on going back to San Diego in October and would not even consider another hotel. What it lacks in glitz it makes up for with location, reasonable cost, cleanliness and comfort; but most of all a staff that is second to no one. What a pleasant stay!
I want to congratulate the staff on their incredible service! Always with a smile and a can do. Uncommon!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Solamar, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hello patrick B,

Thanks for such a great review. I love seeing reviews with such great praise about our service. That’s what truly brings people back. Can’t wait to see you again in October!

Justin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The people who work here they are not friendly the lobby is to dark tv.services is terrible no Spanish chanel it's a very old in the bathroom they only put cheap soap no space for you clothes you have to leave you clothes in you logged

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Solamar, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hello Herminia M,

I've reached out to you via personal message to discuss your review in more depth. I look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you,

Justin
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#6 Business Hotel in San Diego
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#11 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel’s coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.