We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would I stay here again? Probably. Ready on for Pros and Cons.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
West Coast Winter 20% off
Ranked #48 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dana Point, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Would I stay here again? Probably. Ready on for Pros and Cons.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Had my first visit to this hotel on 11/17/13. I thought the hotel was beautifully decorated, and the staff was very helpful. The room was spacious, comfortable and nicely decorated. Very lovely! The room also included use of a funny leopard print robe and a yoga mat, which I thought was cool, and at your expense, comes stocked with great snacks, sodas, spirits, beer, wine and champagne. They offer a social hour daily at which they serve complimentary wine and snacks, which is very nice. The hotel excels at anticipating visitors' needs, which certainly impressed me. Also, if you're looking for something close to Petco Park or in the heart of the Gaslamp district, this hotel is perfectly situated for easy walking to hot spots. For all of these reasons, I would definitely stay here again.
Now, here are the other tidbits to consider:
While the room and the bathroom was quite lovely, there were some challenges in the bathroom. The jetted tub/shower combo was longer than the shower curtain, which appeared to be your garden variety standard size. So the curtain left a good 18 inches too short for the length of the shower, causing water to spray out all over the place. This explained why the white wood baseboards nearest the base of the shower were warped. There is also not a fan or a window in the bathroom, so it makes you wonder if the hotel may suffer from any mold issues. The attractive, modern sink was such that you couldn't help but have water spill out the back of the sink and onto the stone countertop in an area that is not visible or easily accessible for cleaning. Kind of makes you wonder what's growing back there.
Another other thing I would point out is more of a gaslamp issue that spills over into the hotel, given its location. Though lovely and classy in its decor, certain appointments in the rooms (the leopard print robe, the "intimacy" kit in the drawer available for purchase, and the variety of booze available for purchase in the room) suggested that the hotel may welcome a bit of a party crowd, which is not really my crowd. While those we saw in the elevators and lobby did not seem to fit that description, we did stop by the pool bar at around 10pm for a nightcap, and were subjected to some very interesting drunk people-watching. Again, not something the hotel can control, but something to be aware of due to the location.
Lastly, be aware that the valet is an additional $40/day. Not sure where else you would park your car if you did not valet, so add that to your totals when determining the cost of staying here, or nearly anywhere in downtown San Diego.
Overall, a very pleasant experience and I would certainly seek this hotel out if I were ever looking for something in the gaslamp quarter again.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room overlooking the pool, as rooms facing the street could be subject to loud f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Solamar, Director of Rooms at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear ockathylovesred,

Thanks for joining us! I'm glad you enjoyed the service and the room’s decor and comfort. The cool leopard print robe and yoga mat are actually are Kimpton Branded amenities that you’ll find in any Kimpton you travel to nationwide~ it’s our thing! We hope to see you again next time your travels bring you San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    450
    115
    64
    28
See reviews for
170
598
85
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We loved the location and the room. The staff were friendly, the room was clean and modern if not spacious. There was also 'happy hour' in the foyer which was a good idea.
A few things to think about are that parking at the hotel is 'valet only' and costs an extra $40 per 24 hours. We decided to use this service for the convenience but the thought had not occurred to us until we arrived and it made the per night cost higher than we would normally have considered paying (factor in the tip too). Secondly and perhaps more importantly to an English person that relies on tea to get the blood flowing in the morning, there was no tea/coffee making facility in the room. Although tea/coffee was set up in the lobby for a few hours each morning, I prefer a cup of tea/coffee whenever I want it and certainly before I get dressed to start my day ...thankfully my husband came to the rescue and fetched my tea (probably for self preservation). I remarked on this issue when we checked out and was told that tea/coffee facilities could be placed in the room upon request.

Green Features: The shampoo/conditioner and shower gel were in dispensers which is great for waste reduction.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Solamar, Director of Rooms at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Sharon T,

Thanks for your review! I'm really glad you enjoyed our service, cleanliness, and the happy hour. Parking in the downtown area can be pricy but we find that the service that we provide is in line with other lots in the area. We provide a safe and secure lot with 24 hour in-and-out privileges meaning you can leave and come as you please whereas other lots in the area do not. Also, next time you’re at a Kimpton, just let us know you'd like a coffee/tea maker in the room and we'll make sure it happens! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Really enjoyed this Hotel - great location in the heart of the gaslamp quarter. The pool and rooftop bar are great as is the general service in the hotel. The folks on the desk are really helpful - they got us a couple of great restaurants after picking a couple of average places ourselves. Great place for a break.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Solamar, Director of Rooms at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Bobble50,

Thanks for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed our pool and bar and our concierge could point out some great local restaurants. We hope you join us again on your next break!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stay here- the service is great, hotel is clean and funky, the drinks are great. They give the kids a pet goldfish for the night, the lobby has a great happy hour every day. They rent bikes, wagons. Seriously- this place is great for families, couples etc.
It's pricey but you get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Our room was right on the pool deck but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Solamar, Director of Rooms at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Sandy F- You're fabulous! Thanks for the great review. We're so glad you enjoyed our hotel and all the extra amenities we have to offer. Happy Holidays and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Was a little worried as we hadn't stayed at a Kimpton and I was a little worried about the pet friendly thing but it turned out I worried for nothing! Had a lovely 4 day stay, room was very large and immaculate with a view of PetCo Stadium (from our 8th floor room); large bathroom with tub/shower combo, large closet and plenty of desk space. Super comfortable bed, huge TV, we did have construction on our side of the building but really didn't hear much of it unless I opened the window. Did have barking dogs down the hall the first night when you walked by 'their' room but couldn't hear anything from inside our room. Hotel very convenient to everything downtown and we walked almost everywhere. Parking is steep but we parking in the garage less than 2 blocks away for $15 a night. Use the side door that opens onto J Street (?) for access at all other times as you are likely to get hit going in and out the driveway/garage in the front of the hotel. Front desk 'gals' very helpful if aloof, the dog at the front desk was the best part; check in and check out fast and efficient, bell men/valets very nice and helpful. Flavored water available in the lobby at all times was very refreshing, mini bar fully stocked and mighty tempting with all the goodies with cute names but ALSO no price list! Will definitely be back to stay here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Solamar, Director of Sales at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review Tracy! Thank you as well for giving Kimpton Hotels a try. It is great to hear we had such a positive impression on you during your stay here in San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Solamar looked to be a trendy hotel with a great location offering exemplary service. Well, the location is good, if you don’t need to park, the rest, not so much. Don’t be fooled when they tell you $40 to park is the going rate. You can park 2 blocks away for $15. We asked the concierge about bikes and buying attraction passes and we were directed to their computer in the lobby to arrange ourselves. For which you pay to use!
Rooms are cheaply furnished and poorly laid out with a walmart shelving unit taking up most of the closet. I will give them credit; the beds are nice. The relaxing complementary glass of wine in the evening is nice, unless there’s a convention in town (which is most of the time). Then it’s bedlam, with a long wait to even get an elevator once it’s over.
All in all a very disappointing stay for me and my family. We still have a couple of days of holiday, but I think I’ll spend some of that time looking for somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Solamar, Director of Sales at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hi Rathe, Thank you for staying with us and for your time posting a review. Of course we wish we had made a more positive impact on you during your stay. The Hotel is certainly a busy one as we are located in the heart of Downtown San Diego, close to the Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, and the Convention Center... and with the popularity of our evening So Cal hour it certainly can get busy. I am sorry to hear that you were directed to the lobby computer to look up attraction passes and information about bikes, as we have complimentary bikes right here on property for guest use. I will discuss this with the front desk team to ensure we are accommodating future guest requests in a much more helpful way. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed in the Solamar for four nights as part of our recent vacation in California. I picked it out because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor and because of its excellent position in the lower Gaslamp District, on the corner of 6th Avenue and J Street.
The Solamar is a medium sized hotel in a refurbished building and accordingly, both the entrance to the hotel and the lobby are rather dark. What blew us away was the warm welcome from the check-in staff....they couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.
Our corner room on the top (10th) floor was bright modern and spacious. No hint of darkness or dreariness in the room itself or the corridor outside.
We haven't stayed in a Kimpton Hotel before so I enrolled as a KimptonInTouch member before we arrived so we could get free wi-fi in the bedroom.
Three other points are worth a mention. Free drinks and nibbles for guests in the lobby sitting area between 5 and 6 pm each day. Free use of bicycles for hotel guests and a very pet friendly atmosphere.
We had breakfast in their in house restaurant (Jsix) on one occasion but it wasn't great so we didn't repeat the experience.
All in all, a very positive feel about the Solamar. On the basis of this stay, we will certainly book a Kimpton Hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the upper floors to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Photopedia,

Thanks so much for joining us. We're very happy that you enjoyed yourself and I'm thrilled by the comments about our team. They're truly our secret sauce. Hope you get a chance to check out other Kimptons soon, but please come back and see us too!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#6 Business Hotel in San Diego
#11 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel’s coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.