We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
West Coast Winter 20% off
Ranked #38 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Loved It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Was a little worried as we hadn't stayed at a Kimpton and I was a little worried about the pet friendly thing but it turned out I worried for nothing! Had a lovely 4 day stay, room was very large and immaculate with a view of PetCo Stadium (from our 8th floor room); large bathroom with tub/shower combo, large closet and plenty of desk space. Super comfortable bed, huge TV, we did have construction on our side of the building but really didn't hear much of it unless I opened the window. Did have barking dogs down the hall the first night when you walked by 'their' room but couldn't hear anything from inside our room. Hotel very convenient to everything downtown and we walked almost everywhere. Parking is steep but we parking in the garage less than 2 blocks away for $15 a night. Use the side door that opens onto J Street (?) for access at all other times as you are likely to get hit going in and out the driveway/garage in the front of the hotel. Front desk 'gals' very helpful if aloof, the dog at the front desk was the best part; check in and check out fast and efficient, bell men/valets very nice and helpful. Flavored water available in the lobby at all times was very refreshing, mini bar fully stocked and mighty tempting with all the goodies with cute names but ALSO no price list! Will definitely be back to stay here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Solamar, Director of Sales at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review Tracy! Thank you as well for giving Kimpton Hotels a try. It is great to hear we had such a positive impression on you during your stay here in San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    433
    109
    60
    26
See reviews for
167
568
82
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Solamar looked to be a trendy hotel with a great location offering exemplary service. Well, the location is good, if you don’t need to park, the rest, not so much. Don’t be fooled when they tell you $40 to park is the going rate. You can park 2 blocks away for $15. We asked the concierge about bikes and buying attraction passes and we were directed to their computer in the lobby to arrange ourselves. For which you pay to use!
Rooms are cheaply furnished and poorly laid out with a walmart shelving unit taking up most of the closet. I will give them credit; the beds are nice. The relaxing complementary glass of wine in the evening is nice, unless there’s a convention in town (which is most of the time). Then it’s bedlam, with a long wait to even get an elevator once it’s over.
All in all a very disappointing stay for me and my family. We still have a couple of days of holiday, but I think I’ll spend some of that time looking for somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Solamar, Director of Sales at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hi Rathe, Thank you for staying with us and for your time posting a review. Of course we wish we had made a more positive impact on you during your stay. The Hotel is certainly a busy one as we are located in the heart of Downtown San Diego, close to the Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, and the Convention Center... and with the popularity of our evening So Cal hour it certainly can get busy. I am sorry to hear that you were directed to the lobby computer to look up attraction passes and information about bikes, as we have complimentary bikes right here on property for guest use. I will discuss this with the front desk team to ensure we are accommodating future guest requests in a much more helpful way. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed in the Solamar for four nights as part of our recent vacation in California. I picked it out because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor and because of its excellent position in the lower Gaslamp District, on the corner of 6th Avenue and J Street.
The Solamar is a medium sized hotel in a refurbished building and accordingly, both the entrance to the hotel and the lobby are rather dark. What blew us away was the warm welcome from the check-in staff....they couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.
Our corner room on the top (10th) floor was bright modern and spacious. No hint of darkness or dreariness in the room itself or the corridor outside.
We haven't stayed in a Kimpton Hotel before so I enrolled as a KimptonInTouch member before we arrived so we could get free wi-fi in the bedroom.
Three other points are worth a mention. Free drinks and nibbles for guests in the lobby sitting area between 5 and 6 pm each day. Free use of bicycles for hotel guests and a very pet friendly atmosphere.
We had breakfast in their in house restaurant (Jsix) on one occasion but it wasn't great so we didn't repeat the experience.
All in all, a very positive feel about the Solamar. On the basis of this stay, we will certainly book a Kimpton Hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the upper floors to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Photopedia,

Thanks so much for joining us. We're very happy that you enjoyed yourself and I'm thrilled by the comments about our team. They're truly our secret sauce. Hope you get a chance to check out other Kimptons soon, but please come back and see us too!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I happen to prefer Kimpton's wherever I travel in the US where there is one and have come to expect a level of service, comfort, and amenities that make my stay enjoyable whether on business or pleasure. While the Solamar met a number of expectations it was below par in several key categories starting with the exorbitant $40/ night valet parking charge (more than the rental itself!). Our room was quiet given the noise level of the Gaslight, but fairly cramped and with little storage space for clothes etc. Another big disappointment was the "fitness center" which looked spacious and well appointed on the web-site but in reality was not much larger than a big closet with three exercise machines--and none of three computer boards to program my workout worked. When I mentioned something to the front desk they referred me to a health club several blocks away that charged $20 per visit (no discount for hotel residents). On the positive side, it did have a lovely roof-top pool, bar and outdoor dining and was centrally located to the convention center and ball park.
.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room away from the noisy street and they do reserve certain floors that are dog-free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Mayito2,

We want to be more than just OK! Thanks very much for the constructive feedback from your recent stay. Glad you enjoyed our bar, pool and great design, but also appreciate you noting areas we can grow. Regarding the parking fees we do regular surveys of the fees we charge for parking. We've consistently found we're in line with what other businesses charge for a comparative service. That's an important distinction; we offer clean, safe, secured valet parking that's accessible to our guests 24 hours a day. Does an outdoor city lot cost less? Of course, but they don't offer any of those services. We're happy to help unload your car and direct you to less expensive options, but we regularly encounter guests that had issues with getting their car early, vandalism, etc. Also appreciate the feedback about our gym. While it's smaller than large hotels it was designed in mind with our amazing weather and offerings like complimentary bicycles. Most folks want to be outside, so the building is designed to that perspective. That equipment up there was just replaced and is literally 3 weeks old, so we'll make sure that we don't have any issues with them!

Hope that helps, thanks again and we hope you get a chance to come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Factory, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

First the hotel is really modern, with bikes to borrow, a amazing pool with cabana's and all the southern California sun. Close to the paths on the ocean. The room was great and the staff is very helpful especially the valet guys. The only issue we had was the bathrobes, there suppose to have animal print bathrobes but when we got up to our room there worn't there, so the next morning I ask the front desk. They said they would take care of it, we where there for a full week and we never seen them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear jamesjegan,

Thanks for joining us! Glad you had a good time although I want to apologize for the issue with the bathrobes. We'll get with our Housekeeping team and ensure they're properly stocked. Thanks again and please come back soon!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located in the Gaslamp district, just two blocks from the convention center. The area appears quite safe during the day and in the night. Definitely recommended if you are going to San Diego for a meeting in the convention center: 5 minutes walking distance, and the advantage of being really downtown after the convention, instead of having to walk form the seaside hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear GLS/ALS,

Thanks so much for joining us and taking the time to outline your experience. Very happy that you enjoyed yourself and had a chance to check out our amazing Gaslamp. Have a great autumn and please come back soon!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel on a business trip. You can never go wrong with Kimpton! This one is in the Gaslamp District and well located for access to downtown and the convention center. My room was comfortable and quiet (8th fl). Had dinner and a breakfast in restaurant on site -- both were terrific. One of the special things about this hotels is the rooftop bar and cafe, overlooking the city. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Susan G,

Thanks for joining us! It was a pleasure hosting you and we're thrilled you enjoyed yourself. Very happy as well you had a chance to check out Jsix, We love the work they do and are very proud to be their partner. Have a great autumn and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel’s coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.