We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We've Never Felt So Well Looked-After...!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Red, White + Blue
Ranked #42 of 268 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“We've Never Felt So Well Looked-After...!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I departed the Hotel Solamar two days ago after a joyous five days in San Diego for our grandson s wedding.

A dicey beginning after our transcontinental flight: we were led to a lovely room which had,unfortunately, a constant, low-toned humming noise -- but it was rectified with dispatch and good humor by David from the front desk and Hendrik the bellman. The second room, too, had a fainter, constant thrum to it. David actually came upstairs from the desk to confirm that, yes, there was still that troubling noise! Most probably, we were on the line of rooms under the roof air conditioning, which was running at full bore, I bet, as we'd hit San Diego during a most unusual heat spell! David finally found us the perfect room -- and, magically, we were awarded an upgrade to a corner room for our troubles. Unexpected, but most gratefully appreciated.

Thus ensued a stay of supreme comfort, great bed, wonderful breakfasts at JSix, thirst- and soul-saving cold water jugs in the lobby when we returned from outdoor adventures, and the friendliest and most willing-to-help staff we've encountered in a 2013 summer full of travel.

It's fair to say that we are demographically older than Solamar's target clientele (Our son's a Kimpton fan; he pointed us to Solamar and he and his family were there, too!) , but that factor, I think, added to our enjoyment of our stay! What an active bunch always to be found in the lobby -- they constantly appeared to be coming in from some energetic pursuit! And the doggies! The doggies! Another high-spirited bunch -- but thoroughly well-trained to conduct themselves appropriately in the lobby. How do they do that?!?!?

That was the atmosphere; on to the strategic stuff: the bed was terrific -- I meant to search for the label but forgot! Bathroom amenities lovely; our final upgrade landed us a jacuzzi which after many days of wedding festivities, I totally took advantage of. I glommed the M&Ms with my $10 raid the refridge card. Great Internet. Spanking clean room each time we returned to it.

Thanks, Hotel Solamar, for your superior attention to your guests needs and comforts. San Diego speaks for itself; I have this intense desire to move there forever. Failing that, I plan to hole up in the Hotel Solamar on every visit I can rangle!

Room Tip: We got a corner room -- nicely quiet. Overlooking the pool may result in some noise. Another nice p...
See more room tips
Green Features: Would appreciate a little sign about which items should go in the "recycle" bin, besides the obvious water and soda bottles...
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Cbblades,

Simply the best review ever. My sincere thanks for your kindness.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    692
    418
    107
    59
    26
See reviews for
157
548
78
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay at this hotel. The location was excellent, in the centre of the gaslight quarter, and the amenities were also excellent, except for having to pay for wi-fi access; shouldn't this be free everywhere by now? The staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful, and the free happy hour is a great idea for socialising and meeting other guests, or for just enjoying a few free drinks and delicious snacks. The swimming pool is fine, but can get very busy. A further improvement would be free coffee-making facilities and free water, rather than the $7 per bottle bottles that were placed in the bedroom. Our room was spacious and modern and comfortable, with good, quiet ac and good soundproofing; we were hardly aware of other guests at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear FudgeCat0250,

First of all, marvelous name! I also do want to thank you for the kind words about your experience with us. Regarding the internet access, we do offer complimentary wireless for members of our loyalty program Kimpton InTouch; I'd recommend you check it out at our hotel's website. There's a lot of great value beyond that perk in that program as well.

I also appreciate the feedback about the water and coffee. We do offer complimentary coffee makers in our rooms, simply ask for one at arrival and we'll be happy to send it up. Along with complimentary coffee in our lobby we also offer fruit infused water all day long prior to complimentary beer and sangria at our SoCal Hour every day at 5pm.

Thanks again for the feedback and please come see us again.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Solamar the Friday before Labor Day. We arrived in the evening and were greeted by the friendly staff. We had a room on an upper-level floor (as indicated by my Kimpton InTouch profile), and we received a $10 coupon to raid the mini bar! The decor in the room was trendy, yet comfortable. Being by the ocean, it had a nice "beachy" feel. We chose to go out to dinner, but came back to the hotel for a drink. The outdoor bar was occupied, but not too crowded - perfect. My husband and I enjoyed our drinks on a cozy couch that looked out over the Gas Lamp District. Unfortunately, we could only stay for one night. I would like to go back to fully experience this fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Betsy Z,

We'd love to have you back for more than a night! Thanks for the great feedback and we hope you both can come join us again soon. Have a wonderful rest of your summer; hopefully it's cooling off in Tucson!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed for four nights at the Hotel Solamar to attend a business conference and to make sure my wife joined me during the conference. This hotel’s ambience and service begins with the attentive valet and bell staff. Michael, the valet/bellman was helpful and courteous during our entire stay. The hotel is conveniently located within a five minute walk of Petco Park, 10 minutes from the convention center, just around the corner from the Gaslamp district and a few minutes’ walk to Horton Plaza. The check-in is very friendly and easy. Our corner sunken Jacuzzi room was on a corner and had views of the ballpark and the bay. The room is very comfortable. The pool was quite with outstanding service. There was plenty of room to work and play. They serve complimentary coffee in the morning and wine in the afternoon. This is our San Diego hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room with the sunken Jacuzzi tub. Check the website for discounts. They do off...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are very green but not obnoxiously so. I enjoyed the separate recycling trash container in the room.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Crewdog13,

We're thrilled to be your San Diego hotel! Thanks very much for the kind words, we really appreciate the feedback. I also was very happy to read the comments about Mike and our wonderful Valet team; they really do set the tone for our service. Have a great rest of the summer and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday and everything was perfect. We loved the room and we had a great view of the pool. It was a great afternoon at the pool and lunch at the bar was perfect. The portions were large and both meals were enjoyable. The staff was friendly and helpful and all there recommendations were perfect!

Room Tip: Join the club before you book your room and you get treated like royalty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear ShelleeO,

That's great to hear! We always appreciate when someone trusts us with a milestone event like a birthday. Glad to hear we delivered. Have a great rest of the summer and please come back soon, maybe for your birthday!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have stayed at many real 5 star hotels in the world, but this one while may not be the best from a building or facilities perspective, shines with its staff. From the valet guys to Kim at reception, I had a total blast and would easily stay again because of them.

Better pillows needed for sure, but overall very nice and central! Again will stay there if in San Diego again

Room Tip: Ask for better pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Victor C,

We love our staff too! They definitely bring the Kimpton spirit to our hotel and we're very lucky to have them. Have a wonderful rest of your summer and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Centrally located with the great service and ameninities of a Kimpton Hotel. The hotel is located in the Gaslamp Quarter which has a really high number of restaurants and pubs so you only need to walk a couple blocks for some great dining/evening spots. We did have to take a taxi to the San Diego Zoo and Pacific Beach (although we took public transport back to the hotel from Pacific Beach which was very easy).

Recommendation - valet parking is $40 a night at the hotel but there's an above ground parking lot directly across the street for $10 a day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Pete C,

Thanks for coming! Very happy to see you had a chance to venture out beyond the Gaslamp and check out some local's favorites like Balboa Park (home of our famous zoo) and Pacific Beach, one of the last great authentic surf towns. Have a wonderful rest of your summer and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#9 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel’s coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.