We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
West Coast Winter 20% off
Ranked #46 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed here for my birthday and everything was perfect. The beds were great, and the room was well decorated. The upstairs, outdoor bar was fun and the drinks were reasonably priced. Walked to a local restaurant for dinner. I plan to come back soon. I'll easily recommend this hotel to friends and family!

Room Tip: Upper floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Dan Z,

Thanks for the feedback, we really appreciate it when someone trusts us with a milestone event like a birthday. So happy we were able to deliver! Have a great rest of the summer and come back and see us, but don't wait until your next birthday!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    448
    113
    64
    27
See reviews for
170
590
85
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We attended a conference in San Diego (at the Hilton, next to the convention center). The convention hotel was sold out, so an associate recommended the Hotel Solamar to us. I am glad he did. In fact, after staying at the Solamar, I'm glad the convention hotel was sold out! Everything about this hotel was great. Friendly, helpful staff. Large clean room with comfortable bed. Great pool and lounge. Awesome access/right next to Gas Lamp district. Steps away from transit system, easy enjoyable walk to convention center. This is a great hotel and we will stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear 2jackson,

Thanks very much! We really appreciate you taking the time to outline your experience and very happy that you found it so enjoyable. Have a great rest of the summer and come back and see us soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Spent two nights at the Hotel Solamar while visiting our daughter at college.

The room itself was very comfortable. Nice firm bed, good amenities, and a reasonable amount of space. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but did have a couple of drinks at the bar. There's a daily happy hour in the lobby where they serve beer and sangria.

Overall the service was really great. We've traveled to many different places around the world and have stayed in a wide range of hotels, and I think that the Hotel Solamar's staff is amongst the best we've encountered. It's not that they do anything totally different than any other hotel, it's just that they consistently do that little bit extra that makes all the difference in the world.

Word of caution if you're there for the weekend (Thurs thru Sat). There's a club across the street on one side of the hotel that blasts music on their rooftop bar until 1:30am.. If you're up that late anyway - no worries... but if you want to sleep you should make sure your room is on the other side of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear GStim,

Thanks very much, we truly appreciate the feedback! I was thrilled to hear your comments about our wonderful staff. It's high praise indeed coming from someone who's had a chance to see other hotels around the world. Have a wonderful summer and please come back soon; we'll have a glass of sangia waiting!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Room and shared spaces all high quality with lots of interesting features. Nice touches like wine hour, coffee and map of the area with restaurants etc listed. Staff could not have been more helpful. Lovely atmosphere. Great city and excellent location. Will look out for kimpton group

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Carolyn W,

It was a pleasure to read your review! So happy you enjoyed yourself and even happier that we made you consider Kimpton Hotels in other cities. Have a great summer and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Up's
- Quick check in and friendly/helpfull Front Desk employees (includes Doorman and bellmans)
- Good lobby area
- Prime location
- Next to Petco Park and a short walking distance to Convention Center
- Plenty of restaurants to choose from in the neighborhood
- Very clean hotel
-JSix Restaurant very good (Burger is amazing)

Down's
- Although rooms are very clean they are looking bit "tired"
- Room Service needs to double check tray before sending to room. Sent my breakfast (eggs) without salt and pepper and no sugar (of any kind) for my Latte.
- NO SECURITY LATCH on door. This is not acceptable. Liked the hotel but if I return to SD this might be something that would hold me back of staying here again.
- Bathroom - poor light (yellow) and slippery bathtub with no place to 'hold on" in case you need to

Room Tip: I was facing the street and it was quiet. Don't know about the rest.
See more room tips
Green Features: Same as in many other hotels. If you want to keep towel hang it, if you put on the floor will be replaced etc. If there is anything else I did not know or it was not obvious to me to see (read). Maybe information was not available in the room?
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Debnelsonr,

Thanks for detailing your experience with us. I'm thrilled you had a chance to experience our warm, welcoming staff and the great location of the hotel. I also appreciate the areas you outlined where we can up our game. We'll make sure that we reiterate the process to our In Room Dining team about what should round out the tray. Regarding the latch issue we have deadbolts on all of our rooms to ensure our guests safety. I hope that helps, and if you return to San Diego I certainly hope that you'll consider us again. Thanks so much and have a wonderful summer.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at the Solamar during our recent 2 night - 1 day lay over in SD on our way to Hi. A contemporary and fun feel in a great location. Great pool/bar on the fourth floor with nice view. Not the Ritz but if you are looking for a nice, friendly place with a little character this is the place. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Great value for this type of place. My wife, son and I all enjoyed our stay. Would definitely stay again. Bikes and red wagons are available for free for guests. While we didn't have our pets with us we loved sharing the elevators and lobbies with other 4 legged guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear MichaelG2,

Glad you made it and even happier that you were so pleased with your stay! We certainly want to provide a memorable experience so glad to see that you had a chance to check out our special guest amenities like our bikes and wagons. Come see us soon, and please bring your pet next time!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Nice surprise! Great location-walking distance to gas lamp quarter. Cvs & groceries nearby. Can be noisy if windows open on the weekends. Pet friendly. Had goldfish in room waiting for our daughter as a surprise & picture we sent of our pet. Staff extremely friendly & helpful. Room service menu above avg. bikes available for "borrow" and watering area for your pooch. Pool was great, bar & fire pit. Loved this place

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear NurseK12,

What kind words, thanks so much! We're thrilled that you got to see our team in action and all our hotel offers during a stay with us. Have a wonderful summer and please come back soon!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#6 Business Hotel in San Diego
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel’s coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.