We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and beautiful hotel, but....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Red, White + Blue
Ranked #46 of 268 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location and beautiful hotel, but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband was in San Diego for business and I decided to join him for the week. We had a nice corner room with 2 great views-one looking towards Petco Park and the other overlooking the pool area. Our first day we spent the morning touring Balboa Park and were looking forward to heading back to the hotel pool to relax. As you enter the pool area, there is a sign on the door posted saying that no outside food or alcohol is allowed at any time. The pool area was somewhat crowded when we arrived around 2:00 pm, but we found some lounge chairs and ordered a few drinks. Then, it got crazy. A group of about 12 people arrived with multiple styrofoam coolers and plastic bags filled with six packs and bottles of liquor. They were yelling across the pool area to the rest of their group who had filled all the seats at the bar and cannon balling into the pool. The staff at the pool chose to completely ignore this behavior and the presence of the outside alcohol. In between shots and downing the beers they brought, we overheard conversations about which local hotels they worked at. The girls next to us, who were nice enough, were also in the service industry in San Diego. They mentioned its tough to find a local pool to hang out at but the Solamar was the "go to" spot. We decided after a while this just wasn't going to be relaxing at all. Apparently, the Solamar pool has become the hot spot for the locals who work at other hotels/restaurants. Perhaps this wouldn't bother you, but we were paying $7/beer and $11/cocktail while listening to foul language being yelled throughout the pool area by folks who were on the byob plan. This wasn't the relaxing scene I had envisioned. I avoided the pool the rest of our stay for fear of what I may experience. I feel the hotel is doing a disservice to their customers by allowing this to go on. The hotel is beautiful, the location is great, and the service was decent, but if you want a hotel where you can enjoy the pool... You might need to look elsewhere.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Ashley L,

Thanks for your comments. While I'm happy to hear the kind words about our location and hotel, it's really the overall experience that sets the tone and I'm sorry we let you down. We do allow our community in that area in the same manner that we welcome them into our restaurant. Do we want them bringing alcohol into the area? Absolutely not, that's the last thing we need!

While there are going to be some wrong decisions made from the public from time to time, our team is happy to deal with it. Our servers and bartenders are very proactive about dealing with anyone bringing their own alcohol into the area, as not only is it a safety hazard and liability issue it goes against the grain of what they're trying to do. I'm sorry we weren't as successful as we should have been in stopping this.

Moving forward I'd ask you and any future guests to simply grab one of us managers and we'll be happy to deal with it.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    690
    418
    107
    59
    26
See reviews for
157
547
77
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Walking distance from everything. Upon check in, my hotel receptionist was so friendly. The asked me if I wanted a pet fish when I commented on the fish at the front desk. Room was huge! It had a sliding door that you could see through to the bathroom, with a FANTASTIC soaking tub! I loved the charismatic staff, and all thier pets. What a wonderful place to work and stay!

Room Tip: I had a room facing 6th street and it was great. Very minimal street noise for a downtown urban hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Christine H,

What a pleasure hosting you, thanks so much for the kind words! Completely agree about the incredible house made sangria; our team in Jsix continues to amaze us! Have a great summer and we hope to see you soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I only stayed two nights, but wished we had stayed longer. Front Desk staff are very kind and helpful and upgraded us due to celebrating our wedding anniversary - room was lovely. Great location as walking distance to the Gas Lamp District and also the Baseball Stadium for the Padre's. Seaworld was fantastic to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Trumpton_8,

We wish you'd stayed longer too! Glad to hear you enjoyed yourself and had a chance to check out the famous Gaslamp. Please come back soon, perhaps for your next anniversary!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I were traveling down the coast and Hotel Solamar was our last stop on June 15th, 2013. The staff at this hotel has hands down the best customer service of any hotel I've ever stayed at. Kyle Wells at the front desk printed my Padres game tickets for me when I (absentmindedly) left them at home unexpectedly. I thought this was above and beyond what is expected. Upon arrival at the hotel, Justin at the front desk was super courteous, provided us a map of the area, and told us about the daily happy hour in the lobby (which had delicious FREE drinks). Chris at the valet was also exceptionally nice and helped us take our bags to our room and even offered to fill up our ice tray. Jennifer at the front desk was also super helpful. After a 10-day long road trip, this hotel was just what we needed to unwind before a long flight back home. Will most definitely be staying at this hotel again upon our return to the amazing city of San Diego.

Room Tip: Ask for room with pool view. Great location right in the middle of the Gaslamp Quarter within walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Lulu2828,

Thanks for the great review! I truly appreciate the time you took to acknowledge our wonderful Front Desk and Guest Services team! I couldn't agree more how lucky we are to work with Justin, Jen, Kyle and Chris. They're crucial to our success so it means a lot to us when you recognize them. Take care and please come join us on your next road trip!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on a weekend trip. They never mentioned the fact that this was a priceline booking. I called a few days ahead and asked for the minibar to be emptied since we were travelling with our 20 month old and the employee on the phone was so wonderful. She not only readily made the request, she also added a request for a quiet room on a high floor away from the elevator on her very own. Thats the sort of thoughtfulness the staff displayed all over the place. The valet parking might appear overpriced at 40 bucks, but its standard for being in such a happening area and the valets make it worth every penny. They are the most pleasant and lightning quick valets I have ever met. Even the housekeeping staff displayed amazing thoughtfullness by leaving us a few extra trash bags since we had our daughter's diaper trash to take care of. The location is amazing with a plethora of restaurants and bars at your disposal. Petco park is in walking distance and we had a wonderful view of the fireworks from our room. Its also very close to the zoo if you are planning a trip there, you could easily come back to the room for an afternoon nap with the kids.
Our only gripe was that the pool area with the bar is not really family friendly, but we knew that booking a hotel in the area so not a big deal at all. The mattress is good, but not the best I have slept in. I think the W mattress is very hard to beat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a non pets floor if you have allergies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear da_coolestofall,

Thanks for the kind words! We really don't care how you book it, we love all of our guests! Very happy to hear the feedback about our amazing desk team, I'm glad they took care of your little one. Since our pool area is so popular we work to make it family friendly during the day and allow our LoungeSIX to do their stuff in the evening. Have a great summer and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here in February 2013 while we were in San Diego for a convention. The first Kimpton Hotel we stayed at was Ink48 in NY and ever since then when we travel we try to search for Kimpton Hotels.

We booked the Deluxe Guest Room with 1 King bed. Modern design. Our room overlooked the pool area The room was a good size... plenty of space for for luggage. Bed was nice and comfortable. The bathroom was clean; little small but it was fine.

The staff here was very friendly. Housekeeping cleaned our room every day.

We enjoyed their wine hour which included some hor d'ouerves and white/red wine.

We ate at Jsix one night. Food was decent but there are so many good restaurants nearby, you're better off trying the other ones unless you just want to stay at the hotel. Highly recommend Cafe Chloe! Reasonable prices, large portions and the food was amazing. Lucky's Lunch Counter was right around the corner and we had breakfast/lunch there a couple of times. Quick service, good prices and really good.

The location was great! There are a ton of restaurants/bars nearby. We walked everywhere.

We will definitely stay here again next time we visit San Diego.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear DoggerH,

Thanks for the feedback about your stay this past winter. Since it's been a bit since you've joined us I wanted to let you know that we recently improved upon our daily social hour. Since San Diego is the beer capital of the US we're now focusing on serving craft beers made right here in San Diego. We're just a couple of weeks in and the feedback as been wonderful.

If you come back I'd also recommend you give Jsix another chance. They're an amazing restaurant and we couldn't be prouder to be their partner. I'd recommend you try their 'Chef's Mercy' in which they create specialty dishes not on the menu. I've done it about 5 times now and had incredible experiences. Thanks again and please come back for the summer.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was really great. From the moment we got there until the moment we left all the staff were fantastic. They were all polite, friendly and helpful. Our room on the 4th floor was lovely and well placed for the pool. The rooftop pool was a really lovely touch - clean, spacious and friendly and a good place to end the day. Wine hour was, of course, a great start to the evenings. I really can't fault any aspect of the stay and would absolutely recommend this hotel. We will definitely check out Kimpton hotels next time we come to the US.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Caron S,

What wonderful news, thanks so much for the recommendation! We're thrilled you enjoyed yourself and absolutely hope that you join us again the next time you make it back over to the States. Thanks again and have a great summer!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel’s coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.