We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Red, White + Blue
Ranked #47 of 269 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We always stay here when in town. Staff is attentive and rooms are always clean. Very dog friendly and kid friendly! Free wine hour at 5!! Only down side, parking has gone up to 40 bucks! Try the mango margarita at the pool side lounge, my wife swears by it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Efangio78,

Thanks for joining us, we're thrilled you had a good time! We also appreciate the feedback about our staff. We love them too. Please come back soon and tell your wife the next Mango Margarita's on us!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    688
    417
    107
    59
    26
See reviews for
156
546
77
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We loved staying here. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Managers walk the walk; they are around and chat and support their staff-they do whatever needs doing. Rooms are clean and well supplied.
The pool area is lovely. There's a bar and bar food. Towels are in good supply. We were lucky with the weather too. The food in the restaurant is innovative and tasty.
Slight caveats- valet parking is $40 a night and we had no forewarning and it is essential as the hotel is very near the busy baseball stadium. And the soap dispenser is tricky to use if one is taking a bath rather than showering and the bottled water on the bedside table looks complimentary and isn't as I discovered to my cost ($7!)
The hotel is in the busy Gaslamp area and near the stop for the trolley sightseeing tour which is worth taking as the drivers are well informed and amusing. Lots of bars and restaurants in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear AynieLondon,

We certainly do our best! Thanks for joining us and a big thank you for such kind feedback. While I'm happy about the comments about our wonderful team I did want to apologize for the surprise about the parking charges and especially the lack of clarity on the minibar charges. Please come back again, the next water is on me!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed for 2 days on a business conference. Not a top flight Kimpton Property. Rooms were slightly worn and bathrooms were just ok. Suite consisted of a narrow warren of rooms in shot gun fashion. Nothing spacious here. Hotel is a magnet for the young 20s crowd who party in the Gaslamp District a block a way. Outdoor pool an be a bit of seen but also a bit seedy with a confused bar staff. Front desk is young and scruffy, but energetic. Valet staff is attentive and the hotel is nicely located a 1 minute walk to Gaslamp. Stay, but there has to be better in San Diego....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Shoredevil,

Thanks very much for your feedback about your stay with us. We're in the process of starting the initial work and discussions for a renovation of our property and hope to have something outlined soon. It's our goal to work to be the best hotel in San Diego, but we'll never get there until we learn from the times we let our guests down. Thanks again for joining us, we'll continue to improve our operation.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

A wonderful hotel that exemplifies Kimpton standards. Very friendly staff, great concierge services and excellent valet services. Check-in was a breeze and the hotel was very accommodating to our dogs from the moment we stepped out of our car.

Our room was spacious and had a furnished balcony and nice views of downtown San Diego. The real star of the room was the Fuji soaking tub, It had to be the deepest tub I have ever seen! Soaking may be an understatement, you could easily float in the tub.

They also helped to make our 22nd anniversary special. They sent a nice bottle of wine and a hand written note to our room upon arrival and assisted us with reservations at
Fleming's for dinner.

Saying the staff is exceptional is really selling them short. They were always attentive, addressed us by name, and ready to help at any moment, Our dogs loved the valet staff who always had a treat for them every time we called for our car.

I highly recommend the Solomar, its location in the Gas Lamp quarter is great, the staff is fantastic, and the rooms are exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Sanchacita,

What great feedback, thanks on behalf of our team. We truly appreciate you entrusting us with your anniversary; it's always a pleasure to assist a guest with celebrating a milestone. Please come join us for # 23!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel felt very similar to a W Hotel with a slightly less cool vibe. All of the employees went above and beyond to make sure my stay was comfortable. No request was too difficult and everyone was pleasant and helpful. I stayed in a King Spa room which appeared larger than a standarrd King and had a whirlpool tub in the bathroom. The room was well appointed and very comfortable. The location is obviously in the Gaslamp and within a few blocks of tons of great bars and restaurants. And the pool deck area which is huge becomes a bit of a party scene on the weekend. Frankly only Saturday got crowded when I was there but it was nice to return to the hotel from the other more crowded spots and find some space on the deck to relax with a cocktail before going to sleep. Saturday night was a bit noisy going to sleep as the bar at the pool or the Stingaree across the street kept me up a little bit. Overall a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Terp95,

Thanks for coming! We appreciate the kind words about our team and the great environment. Also happy to see you had a chance to join us at LoungeSIX for a cocktail. Have a wonderful summer and place do what you can to make it back out soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed 2 nites last week and was treated like royalty. Restaurant managers and chef checked on quality of our meals and wine selection. Staff was very friendly and helpful, from the front desk to the valets. Terrific late afternoon complimentary wines hour, lovely pool area and bar, and very functional exercise room. Hotel is small enough to be warm and cozy, but with full amenities, and within a few blocks of Gaslamp District and the Petco Stadium as well as walking distance to the Embarcadero and Sea Port Village. When your only complaint is that the tv controller was a little to "techie", you know the hotel is a winner....will stay there again on our next visit to San Diego.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not above the pool area which can get noisy at nite as the area turns into a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear LarryLerner,

We'll change the TV channels for you! Thanks for your kind feedback about our team and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Had a great time at the hotel this last week 5 9 2013.....I stayed in a spa room with a huge 2 person very deep jetted hot tub....Beds were very comfortable and room was very clean.....The staff addresses you by name when possible.....They truly act like they like their job and are having fun working there...It is a great environment and located super close to gas lamp fun....Hope you have a great experience there too...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear SkipMontesjr.

There's no better review I like to read than the wonderful team we have getting recognized. Thanks so much for doing that! They do an amazing job day in and day out and we're enormously proud of them. Have a great spring, and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel’s coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.