We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely botique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% on Spring Break
Ranked #49 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
High Point, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely botique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had to stay here for a business meeting, and what a lovely hotel experience! I had a beautiful room, yoga mat delivered upon request, excellent location to many nice restaurants and the Convention Center.
They have a little wine and appetizer event in the afternoon!

Room Tip: I had a great room. And, coffee and tea on the way out, wine and appetizers on the way in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear GBWilkin,

Thanks so much for your feedback! I'm happy we were able to make your business travel feel a little more like home. Have a great spring, and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    461
    120
    64
    30
See reviews for
175
611
86
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights for a conference, but the hotel was more for people having a party. The hotel has a marvelous outdoor pool area on the 3rd floor, which is really fantastic. But if you have a room towards this area, dont bother for an early night. We tried to get a more quiet room, a change to the top floor did help a little. The location is very good. Clean rooms, good beds. A luxery hotel atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Half62,

I'm glad you joined us and my apologies for the lively atmosphere. It's our goal to have a vibrant environment that matches the spirit of the Gaslamp but we don't want that to cost anyone a night's sleep! If you come back please note a request for a quieter room away from the pool and 6th Avenue and we'll be glad to assist. Thanks again and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Solamar is a calm and welcoming oasis in San Diego's Gas Light District. A couple of blocks from Petco Field. A short bike ride to the bike paths along the bay. Walking distance to great shops and restaurants. Comfortable beds, great restaurants (Jsix and Lounge6). A great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Cheevisor,

Thanks for joining us and thanks for the feedback. We're thrilled you enjoyed yourself in our home. Please come back soon, the weather only continues to get better in the Gaslamp.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We traveled from Ontario Canada. We stayed at the Solamar Kimpton for 3 nights with friends at the end of a 2 week Pacific Coast Highway trip . Perfect location. The staff could not have been better. They could not do enough for the guests. Complimentary wine reception for all guests every night from 5 - 6. Rooms were incredible. Great 4th floor pool/bar lounge. Hats off to the General Manager Rob.Talked with all the guests. He was hands on. Special thank you to Gabby, Trevor and my valet buddy Jim. Would certainly recommend Kimpton Hotels. We also had the same treatment at the Best Western Kimpton Tuscan Inn San Francisco. Keep up the good work Kimpton. Some reviews say the parking is expensive at the Kimpton. Just for the record. Parking is at a premium in San Diego. Every hotel and street parking lot I checked all had the same parking rates within $5 of each other. Thx again for making San Diego a great memory. Phil

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear PhilRetired,

What a pleasure hosting you! Thanks very much for the kind words about our property and of course our wonderful team. Jim, Trevor and Gabby do an amazing job for us day in an day out; we're extremely lucky to have them. Take care and please come back soon!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at the Solamar at the end of our vacation. The hotel was recommended by our Travel Agent. The room was booked and paid for in October 2012 but we were told by our travel agent there would only be a twin room the first night then change to a double for the last 2 nights. This was due to the hotels booking system and we were told they would probably not have us change rooms when we got there.
Upon check in we were met by a cheery young girl who asked for our name. She tried several times to find our booking but said we were only booked in for 2 nights starting from tomorrow!!! I had the documents from my travel agent and I explained there were 2 separate bookings. Still she said sorry but we don't have you booked in tonight. Slightly irate at this point, I looked hopefully to the 'mute' woman standing behind the receptionist watching her every move thinking she must be a manager helping with training, but no, still she stood there 'mute'!
A manager eventually came across to help. No explanation given to the cause of the problem or an apology for the mix up, he simply booked us in and walked away!
To add insult to the injury we were told the pool was out of use due to refurbishment, but we were sent a plate full of crap cheese, stale crackers, dollop of honey and some nuts to say sorry.
We were invited to the wine tasting between 5 & 6 every evening which was a nice touch and even got to know the manager who had 'helped' us a bit more (he turned out to be very nice).
The faults did not stop there-we were given a free cocktail voucher to use which we thought was generous. We headed up to the rooftop bar where there was a semi private event going on. The 1 barman on duty was not busy but still took an age to serve us. We asked for a cocktail menu which again took quite some time. He gave us the menu then proceeded to serve everyone (single,blonde, females mainly) before us. I immediately went to complain at reception and the gentleman was very apologetic. He gave us more free cocktail vouchers and asked if we would like to head to the restaurant bar. He said he would speak to the bar manager and ask her to 'reach out to us'. We headed to the bar and ordered our drinks completely put off by the whole event. The waitress came over and asked if we were 'the couple with the problem'. I said we had had a problem upstairs and she said her manager would like to offer us an appetiser or desert. We were not looking for compensation but this was a slap in the face. A face to face apology would have been appreciated! The other free vouchers were returned unused upon check out.
The list goes on and on, not to mention the swearing and moaning from the Valet staff. I really do not care that you hate your job, nor do I want to hear it whilst I am on vacation!!!!!
Not a great experience overall but the room was quite nice and the location good for bars, restaurants etc.
Advise to Solamar staff, just a little more professionalism please!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear JillyDunee,

What a disaster. I'm so sorry we let you down. Here's what I'd ask of you (and all future guests that read this). If your stay ever gets this far off track I'd love you to stop by my office which is located right in the lobby. This will give me the chance to apologize to you personally and also work to recover your trust in us. We want to be the best loved hotel in San Diego, but we'll never get there if we don't have a chance to learn from the times we let our guests down.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We (family of 4) stayed in the Hotel Solamar in December 2012 whilst on holiday in California. We had two rooms - both of which were a good size and nicely appointed. The hotel is nicely situated in the Gaslight district, so close to shopping, restaurants and the Convention centre. As we had joined the Kimpton Club (which is free to join) we had free wifi (which otherwise is chargeable). The hotel itself is very nice, but rather corporate in feel. Free coffee is available in the lobby in the mornings, and there was a small free wine tasting each evening when we were there.
Parking is very expensive at $40+tax per night (valet parking only). There is a parking lot across the street which is cheaper.

Room Tip: Join the Kimpton Club in advance to get some free benefits on check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Plus2012,

Thanks for joining us and I'm happy that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel! Also happy you had a chance to join us during Wine Hour; it's our favorite time of the day too. Please come back soon and join us again.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montecatini Terme, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was travelling for job, and I spent 2 nights at the Solamar Hotel at the end of January. The Hotel is in a good position, I had a nice and big room, everybody was so kind at the Front Desk. A special thanks to Marissa, always smiling and helpful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Beatrix70,

Thanks for joining us, I really appreciate the kind words especially about our MOD Marissa. She's a very valuable member of our team and we're very lucky to have her! Have a wonderful summer and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#6 Business Hotel in San Diego
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#11 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel’s coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.