We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Diego at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Red, White + Blue
Ranked #42 of 268 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
lancaster
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“San Diego at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you are looking for a clean hotel in an ideal location with the best hospitality, the Hotel Solamar is where you will want to stay. From the moment you check-in, you will feel special. The rooms are nicely appointed, the entire staff extraordinary! You can't beat the location - close to great restaurants and the harbor (good walking/running).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear JulieFromLancaster,

We never get tired of hearing that! Appreciate the kind words about our team. We're enormously proud of the work they do. Please come back soon, the Gaslamp is extremely vibrant now that baseball has returned to San Diego.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    691
    418
    107
    59
    26
See reviews for
157
547
78
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at Solamar for the first few nights of our wedding anniversary trip. Despite a late arrival, the staff on check in were friendly and helpful. Our room had a complimentary half bottle of Pinot Noir and a very nice note from Trevor on front desk congratulating us - a nice touch.

The Solamar has a great location for exploring the Gas Lamp district, and is a very short walk from the trolley stop to explore elsewhere too. We definitely didn't need a car, so pleased we didn't bother as parking charges seem high everywhere.

As others have mentioned, the pool was not ready - rather it was surrounded by tape (this was the case when we checked out on 24th April so the manager's response to a previous comment is incorrect). We were told we could use the pool at the nearby sister hotel, but didn't. We did have a look around the pool area though and might have used it had it been open.

The bed was extremely comfy and rooms generally well appointed. The cleanliness was generally good although the bedside tables and lamps were dusty.

Wifi is charged for unless you register for the Kimpton rewards club (which is free to do). I also noticed that there is a notice on the front desk suggesting using a generic username if you don't want to register.

In general, this is a very nice hotel. The staff are friendly and the wine tasting in the evening is a nice touch (daily variance would be better though). Would certainly stay again if we came back to SD.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear LovelyDinasour,

Thanks for the kind words about Trevor and our team, I'm thrilled that you had a chance to celebrate your anniversary with us. I do want to apologize for the challenges regarding the pool, but do want to assure you that it's back in working order. Have a great summer and hopefully you'll be back for your next anniversary.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We encountered some problems at the solamar, with checking in and the pool being closed. We spoke with Rob the manager, who was so respectful, professional and friendly. He discounted our room and moved us to the sister hotel The Polamar where we were treating like royalty, especially by the manager there, Jon. I am so impressed by the customer service at the Klimpton hotels, it was above and beyond anything I have experienced in the hotel industry.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Tashavt,

Thanks for the kind words, all the more so in that you had challenges with your stay. We truly appreciate your patience and understanding regarding the pool situation. We were equally frustrated by the length of time too! Please come back soon, as the pools now open again!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Hotel staff were all great and accommodating. Particularly the overnight crew of bellman and the front desk supervisor.

Room was nice. Plenty of space. Overlooked the pool. HOWEVER the pool was closed.

Very disappointed that that pool was out of service and that I wasn't told about it ahead of time. Realistically we would have looked at staying somewhere else. Not sure why it's out of service - I was told something different then other friends traveling with us.

Also if at all possible. STAY AWAY when there is a cheerleading convention in town. Waking up to cheers and chants in the hallway is not how I'm looking to start my day.

Next time in San Diego will probably look at somewhere else that has an open pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear JohnnyNewman,

We deserve it! Apologies for letting you down on the pool. We had repairs that were critical to its long term heath and had to get them completed as quickly as we could. To speak specifically to what was done the pool was relined and replastered. That work was completed quickly, the time it was down was so that the new lining could properly cure. Due to some weather issues, that curing time took longer than was planned. While we knew it would take some time, it was equally frustrating for us that it went longer than expected. We had made advance arrangements with our sister hotel up the street to offer complimentary access to their pool paired with our complimentary house car. Hopefully you were able to take us up on that. The good news is that the work is done and the pool is back up. I can only apologize that it impacted your stay in such a negative manner. We'll make sure we better communicate on our end for the future.

Thanks again for your feedback. Hopefully you'll be back this summer; I can assure you the only cheers you'll hear are for a brand new pool!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Solamar was a great option for us on our one quick day in San Diego. The staff was wonderful from the moment we arrived til the moment we checked out. Definitely recommend the daily wine happy hour, nice way to start our evening. Very fun feeling throughout.

The poolside bar was great as well later in the evening because the weather was just warm enough. Our room was great and overlooked the pool, but totally soundproof so didn't hear anything. The location is perfect if you want to go to a ball game or just a bit longer walk to the convention center, waterfront.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear BrianDC,

Thanks for joining us and I'm thrilled you had a good time! I'm also particularly happy that you had a chance to make it by our famous Wine Hour. We enjoy being there as much as our guests! Thanks again and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great time. Pet Friendly. Loved it. Wish the pool were opened and that there were an ono-site spa facility instead of just in room. Would stay again here or try other Kimpton properties. Close to Petco and great for Padres game or walk into the Gaslamp.

Room Tip: Love the spa tub. Pet friendly. Would definitely stay again. Would have loved an on-site spa fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Madam56,

There is no better place to be than San Diego in the spring! I'm very happy that you had a chance to join us, although my apologies about the pool being closed. Due to wear and tear we made the decision to have it resurfaced before the summer started. The work was unfortunately delayed, but it's been completed now. It's going to take another week or so from the time of this writing (4/20) to ensure that it cures properly and then we'll be ready for the summer! In the meantime we've made arrangements for our guests to use the pool of our sister hotel down the street on a complimentary basis. Hopefully this will minimize any inconvenience to our guests. Thanks again for joining us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel

p.s. The pool came out great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here for four nights in April, really based on TripAdvisor reviews, and pleased I did. Great location right in the centre of San Diego, walkable to all the restaurants and bars of the GasLamp and the waterfront. Room was great - fab decor - and the whole hotel had a great hip vibe. Loved the wine hour. Best of all was the pool deck and bar - great views, plenty of space, nice sized pool. Staff were universally pleasant and efficient. Wouldn't hesitate to go back. Only one little thing - we checked in really late (1am) due to a delayed flight from the UK and we had breakfast included in our rate but no one told us on check in we needed to collect vouchers. This caused a little confusion in the restaurant the next day - so if you have breakfast included, make sure you pick them up. The continental breakfast was excellent by the way. Other people have mentioned noise, but we had a room overlooking the busy pool bar, but with the windows closed we couldn't hear a thing. Not cheap,but worth it in our opinion.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear OxfordLadiesWhoLunch,

Glad to hear you enjoyed yourself! I'm also very happy that TripAdvisor feedback is what brought you to our property. We equally value the feedback about our hotel that you find on this site. Apologies for the mishap regarding the breakfast voucher; we'll make sure we reiterate the importance of handing them out to our staff. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#9 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel’s coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.