We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool hotel In a central location close to restaurants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
West Coast Winter 20% off
Ranked #41 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cool hotel In a central location close to restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a wonderful three night stay in the Solamar over the new year holiday . it is a very welcoming hotel. It is a great idea to serve a complimentary glass of wine between 5 and 6 pm, it was great to sit down and relax after a days walking and sightseeing . The hotels is only a few metres from 5th avenue and all the restaurants and pubs- nightlife on the doorstep.
The hotel is modern,the decor is class with really comfortable beds. The most selection I have ever seen in a minbar and snack selection. We rang in the new year at the pool side party, which was for guests. We were probably one of the older couples at it- but there was a great atmosphere at it.
We had breakfast at the nearby Empty Yolk and took a walk to Cafe 222. We did the San Diego zoo and the martine museum . We took the trolley to the Mexican border and did some retail therapy at the outlet mall - (you get to it via the old pedestrian bridge ) The nautica outlet was worth the trip down.
If you are travelling here by train, it is the stop after downtown on Amtrak
Due to the distance,, we are unlikely to be back here, but we would highly recommend this hotel for a visit to San Diego

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Redlirac,

I know we're far from you, but we still hope you come back! It was a pleasure hosting you and we're happy to see you got a chance to explore the area. Thanks so much for your kind words and have a wonderful 2013.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    439
    112
    63
    26
See reviews for
168
581
84
328
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We got moved to this hotel after there sister hotel "The Palomar" over booked and after 4 nights we had to vacate for the following 5 nights to the Solamar, and we were delighted to say the least.
The hotel is in a great area of the Gaslamp Quarter and is surrounded by very good restaurants and bars. The rooms were really spacious, well equiped and so comfortable. My other half and I ended up staying in for a few of our nights because we were so relaxed and comfortable!!
We also dined in the hotel restaurant "Jsix" and we highly recommend it. All in all we were so so pleased with our move, and we are thankful to the hotel chain for giving us $100 credit to use for our inconvenience of moving hotels. Stay here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear PeteGas23,

Thanks so much for the kind words. I was sorry to hear that our sister hotel the Palomar was sold out, but thrilled that we were able to help! We'll be ready next time as well so come back and see us soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Came here for a wedding and expected a value-focused experience, but was happily surprised to find a clean standard double room a view of the bay in a hotel that fails to impress initially, but grows on you the longer you're here. The location is great, an easy walk to the marina (but without the prices) and very close to good restaurants and bars. Easy cab from the airport. We upgraded somewhat to a superior room with a tiny (meaning, size 9 men's shoe) balcony. Lots of light, efficient room service. I'd stay here again even though I'm a rank hotel snob because of the bang for the buck. What's a few homeless people around - I prefer this area with its diversity to the sterile mission bay golf and toddler tea party crowd.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view (well---duh)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear dheads,

Thanks we want to beat every expectation, especially the low ones! Glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you join us again soon!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a lovely suite and a very enjoyable stay. The entire staff was courteous and helpful with everything from restaurant recommendations, public transit options and travel issues. The wine in the evening was very nice and the lobby areas were great for my business meeting as well as for socializing with other visitors.

Room Tip: The corner suites e.g., 403 were spacious and airy. Ours was nice because it had an outdoor deck an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear BonanJ,

Appreciate the kind words, we're glad you enjoyed your stay! Especially the Wine Hour we host every afternoon; we love doing it too! Come back and see us soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel had some very nice features like a fancy coffee/tea/hot chocolate bar in the morning and a wine reception in the evening. It also allowed pets and there were lots of very adorable dogs coming and going. The rooms looked very lovely - kind of a beachy decor, but could have used a few things to make them more practical -- towel hooks (there were almost none, making it difficult to be conservation-minded), a lock on the bathroom door, a better hair dryer and better lighting in the bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Lisa S,

Thanks for the feedback about your stay with us. I'm also very appreciative of the suggestions for the room improvements. We're starting to discuss a refresh of our property for the upcoming year and will definitely take those comments to heart. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights to end my honeymoon and I wasn't disappointed. We were in a 5 star Vegas hotel before coming here so we had to compare, but you can't really compare these hotels. For this city this is a great hotel. The location is fantastic on 6th, close to all bars and restaurants on 5th and 4th. San Diego is a brilliant, quirky destination, just like this hotel. A pet friendly hotel, where else wud u find it! We were on a pet free floor though and our room was surely a pet free zone always.
On check in the lady behind the desk was very relaxed, but so helpful, not the usual over the top fake friendliness that hotel guests sometimes experience Lots of Relevent info and help was given.
The room itself was fine, like I said we had just come from Vegas! I do think its a little pricey but u pay for the location and so it was worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear JayneyMcIreland,

Thanks very much for joining us and congratulations on your wedding! We're always quite honored to have someone trust us with a milestone memory. Come back for your first Anniversary!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Call me spoiled. My recent stay at te Solamar left me flat. After reading the reviews here especially the ones where credit challenged guests were upgraded to suites(?????). It leaves me rethinking my lodging choices in San Diego. As a Kimpton Inner Circle Member, I guess I've come to expect more. No negatives for the property. Clean room and nice staff. The Solamar needs to show some love to the Inner Circle.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Cabogolf19,

Your loyalty means everything to us and we're very sorry to have let you down! Please contact me at the hotel at your earliest convenience so we can work to restore your trust.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#6 Business Hotel in San Diego
#9 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel’s coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.