We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Solamar's staff was wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Red, White + Blue
Ranked #42 of 268 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Newbury Park, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hotel Solamar's staff was wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had a quick trip to SD for Daughter's Art Exhibit & staff was very attentive & concerned about us enjoying our stay. Location was fantastic & able to walk to great restaurants & clubs. Enjoyed our breakfast at the hotel restaurant & morning swim in heated pool before our long drive home. Would like to return when weather is better to enjoy rooftop pool & amenities more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Sally E,

Glad you made it! It must have been a great family weekend. Congratulations to your daughter on her show and we hope you make it back this spring.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    692
    418
    107
    59
    26
See reviews for
157
548
78
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

the location of this hotel is great! right in the downtown San Diego, many bars and restaurant are within walk distance. The hotel entrance is not that easy to spot as the other hotels. It was even difficult to find a spot to park and to check in. they do not offer any parking for their guest, only VALET parking ($40 for over-night guest) I think this is a bit over-charge. I understand its in downtown and parking always not free, but $40 for your over-night guest? Anyway, we ended up parking at a parking structure for $17 for over night.
On top of that, the valet guy told me that we could pull our car in and check in first and then we can decide if we want to park here over-night or not. HOWEVER, when we come down to the main lobby to pick up our car, they already registered our car as "parked". On the next morning when we check out, we have to deal all that "NO, I didnt park here last night, so please remove that valet parking fee" hassle. Took us another 20 minutes at the lobby when we check out. On the positive side, the staffs were really helpful and friendly. (made my morning easier)

Beside the parking issue, the room is great and the bed is comfortable. We had a pool view room (too bad that I didnt bring my swimsuit) The noise level is minimum. I liked how they use big bottles for their shampoo/body wash/ conditioner instead of the little ones. its more eco-friendly. :) The room is clean and comfy. they offer a long list of "Forgot to bring it? We have it all...." They got almost everything on that list! From iron curler to stain remover... :) (big plus!!)

Overall...
Plus: friendly staff, great location, nice and comfy bed, great coffee in the morning
Negative: over-charge parking fee, NO internet (unless you join their royal program), dysfunction sink,

Room Tip: Pool view is not bad!!! :) ENjoy the coffee/tea in the morning! Unless you want to pay $40 to pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear PolkaH,

Thanks for reaching out with feedback on your experience with us. It's always great to hear comments about the warmth and personality of our team. They're the biggest driver of our success, so we're thrilled when our guests acknowledge their hard work. I also appreciate the comments about parking. First of all, my apologies about the incorrect billing on your parking. While I'm happy the team was able to sort it out I did want to apologize for the frustration. Regarding our fees, we do want to make sure we're in the range of other hotels that offer a similar service, so we do regular rate surveys. We are in line with other hotels that offer valet parking in a secured garage. As you noted there's other options and we'll always be sure to make sure you're aware of them to assist with your stay. Next time we'll just make sure to not inadvertently charge you if you do later move the car! Thanks again for your feedback and I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

I'm a big fan of Kimpton hotels. This was very good but not the absolute best one I've stayed in.

-The room was spacious and modern
-Really nice bathroom with some counter space
-No cotton swabs in bathroom
-No coffee maker in room - coffee was available around 5:45 in the lobby
-Early breakfast options are very limited for room service. Before 6:30 AM there are just a few cold entrees available such as cereal. The yogurt with fruit and housemade granola was very good, though.
-Very friendly front desk and valet staff

Overall would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear FancyBirthday,

Appreciate the comments! I know there's so many great Kimptons to choose from so I'm grateful for the feedback on how we can work to be your favorite. Regarding the cotton swabs and coffee makers, we certainly have those as part of our 'Forgot It, We Got It' program. Simply call and we'll run them up! Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon, we'll have the coffee ready!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed at Solamar for 5 days on business. Loved the location, the friendly staff, the morning coffee, tea, hot chocolate and evening wine and snacks. The only negative was pool heating mechanism was broken during the visit so I could not use the pool :(

Room Tip: If you don't like dogs (which are permitted), choose a floor that is "canine-free"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear TerpFamily,

Thanks for joining us this past week. We're very happy you had a chance to join us for our afternoon wine hour and in the morning for our famous hot chocolate. I did want to apologize for the challenges regarding the pool. Our heater died and it took our vendor a couple of days extra to get a replacement shipped in. It's now working properly, so it'll be ready to go for your next visit!

Thanks again, and Fear the Turtle!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. Everyone gave excellent service. This hotel is in a great location in the Gaslamp District. It is walking distance to a lot of great restaurants! Be aware that they charge quite a bit for parking..I believe it is about $40 a night. Other than that, my husband and I plan to stay at this hotel whenever we visit the area. Also, it comes with free Wifi which was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear BlueSushi76,

So glad you made it! We're very happy that you enjoyed yourself and doubly excited that you want to come back! I hope you can make it back to see us soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Excellent hotel with very friendly employees. Great location within easy walking distance of the convention center and in the midst of many excellent restaurants. The business center consisted of a computer and printer in a hallway but it all worked first rate. Very nicely appointed room. The wine and cheese at happy hour was an very nice feature. Excellent experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear David N,

Thank you, we never tire of hearing that about our hotel and team! We're thrilled you had a good time in our home and I hope you make it back soon. We'll have a glass of wine waiting!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Just stayed for a second time at this hotel in the San Diego Gaslamp District and it is consistently good. The staff is particularly friendly and helpful and Kimptom offers its guests lots of great perks. There is free wireless internet for their InTouch members and nightly wine and cheese at happy hour. A coffee/tea/hot chocolate set-up awaits hotel guests in the lobby each morning and the rooms come with a fully stocked mini-bar (lots of choices and some unusual ones that you rarely see in hotels). It is a dog-friendly hotel (much more of this kind of thing in San Diego than other cities, I've observed) and mere walking distance to the convention center. It's right in the middle of everything. There is a wonderful fitness center (with hula hoops and jump ropes in addition to the usual equipment) and pool. A major negative: very expensive parking at $40 per day. A minor negative: no in-room coffee making.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are particularly nice. Rooms on 6th Ave can be a little noisier than other parts o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear HuntressCA,

Thanks for the great comments! We appreciate the kind words about our location, great amenities and wonderful team. I'm very happy you found the Hula Hoops! They're a fun part of our wellness culture.

Regarding the parking, our parking costs include the Valet service, as well as unlimited 'In and Out' meaning you can take your car whenever you want without additional fees. Your car will always remain safe, secure and accessible in our covered parking. That said, we do want to make sure we remain competitive, so we do regular parking rate surveys on the area and other hotels (in fact, we did one this month). We've found that we're competitive to the other hotels in our area. There certainly are less expensive options in the area, but they won't necessarily come with the security and convenience.

Thanks again for the feedback, come back and see us soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#9 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel’s coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.