We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, location and comfy rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
West Coast Winter 20% off
Ranked #46 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great service, location and comfy rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Just stayed for a second time at this hotel in the San Diego Gaslamp District and it is consistently good. The staff is particularly friendly and helpful and Kimptom offers its guests lots of great perks. There is free wireless internet for their InTouch members and nightly wine and cheese at happy hour. A coffee/tea/hot chocolate set-up awaits hotel guests in the lobby each morning and the rooms come with a fully stocked mini-bar (lots of choices and some unusual ones that you rarely see in hotels). It is a dog-friendly hotel (much more of this kind of thing in San Diego than other cities, I've observed) and mere walking distance to the convention center. It's right in the middle of everything. There is a wonderful fitness center (with hula hoops and jump ropes in addition to the usual equipment) and pool. A major negative: very expensive parking at $40 per day. A minor negative: no in-room coffee making.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are particularly nice. Rooms on 6th Ave can be a little noisier than other parts o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear HuntressCA,

Thanks for the great comments! We appreciate the kind words about our location, great amenities and wonderful team. I'm very happy you found the Hula Hoops! They're a fun part of our wellness culture.

Regarding the parking, our parking costs include the Valet service, as well as unlimited 'In and Out' meaning you can take your car whenever you want without additional fees. Your car will always remain safe, secure and accessible in our covered parking. That said, we do want to make sure we remain competitive, so we do regular parking rate surveys on the area and other hotels (in fact, we did one this month). We've found that we're competitive to the other hotels in our area. There certainly are less expensive options in the area, but they won't necessarily come with the security and convenience.

Thanks again for the feedback, come back and see us soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    450
    115
    64
    28
See reviews for
170
598
85
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great location within the Gaslamp District. Fabulous staff!! We stayed here over Thanksgiving and before we even arrived, I was emailed a list of the local Thanksgiving meal options in the area. Upon our arrival, the location, staff and dog friendly amenities exceeded our expectation!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Amandaws,

Thanks for spending the holiday with us! It's always a pleasure to have more family around. Glad to hear we were also able to help select good local options to celebrate. Thanks again and come back soon!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Four of us met at the Hotel Solamar for Thanksgiving Day and weeked. Great location for easy access to the Gaslamp District. Very friendly staff. They let us check in at noon on Thanksgiving day. We requested a non-pet floor. They gave us top floor rooms with a view of the City, waterfront, and pool area. Rooms were a little small but very nice. The morning coffee bar was nice. The evening wine reception was OK. We didn't really like the wine the served. Areas that they could improve: Valet parking was expenisve $40. Beds and pillows were a little hard. We didn't really care for the number of pets in the hotel. We didn't really mind the small dogs. However, some people had three great danes walking around the lobby with them, which was a distraction from the hotel ambiance for us. At least we had rooms on a non-pet floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Haztaz69,

Thanks for the comments, We really appreciate your joining us for the holidays. While I'm happy about the kind words about our great team, I'm especially grateful for the feedback about where we can improve. Regarding the parking, our parking costs include the Valet service, as well as unlimited 'In and Out' meaning you can take your car whenever you want without additional fees. Your car will always remain safe, secure and accessible in our covered parking.

That said, we do want to make sure we remain competitive, so we do regular parking rate surveys on the area and other hotels (in fact, we did one this month). We've found that we're competitive to the other hotels in our area. There certainly are less expensive options in the area, but they won't necessarily come with the security and convenience.

Hope that helps, thanks so much for joining us and we hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego soon!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

I booked on Priceline and got a really good deal. It was in the perfect local. So close to Petco and right in the gas lamp action. The room was super nice. I have never seen a mini bar with this much stuff before. There was also a complimentary wine hour in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Kamanemilio,

Thanks for joining us and a very big thank you for your feedback on our minibar. You don't hear that everyday! Come back and see us soon and make sure you make it for our legendary Wine Hour, we love it as much as our guests do..

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

location in the Gas Lamp district is great, all staff friendly and approachable. The fact that they allow dogs (and they had a lot of them over the Thanksgiving) and have a wine hour in the evening means that all the guests seem relaxed and happy. So many straingers saying 'Hi how are you doing? to each other. So nice just to pull up in the car and the guys take it away, ask how your day was and offer ideas of where to visit. So comfortable - just didn't want to leave (so I'm planning on a return soon)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Maureen M,

Music to our ears, thanks so much for the kind words! We're enormously proud of the great work our team does, so it's very rewarding when their work is acknowledged. Come back soon to sunny San Diego.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kula, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Excellent small hotel with good location in gaslamp district. Easy walk to major attractions with many good restaurants nearby. Personalized service and a good restaurant in the hotel. Terrific Afghan restaurant named Chopahn within walking distance. Took a pedicab to tour gaslamp area-great fun!

Room Tip: Overlook pool rather than street, though might be noisy on weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear MauiPilot,

It was a pleasure having you and we also appreciate the feedback about the Gaslamp. We love being at its doorstep; there's so many great dining options. Come back soon and make sure you visit our very own Jsix!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

These past two days made up our second trip to this hotel, and we were just as pleased this time as last. We love the bright, stylish rooms. The location could not be more fun -- close to Petco, many restaurants and shops in the Gaslamp area, the convention center, and the beautiful harbor of San Diego. We were very happy to remember that this is a pet-friendly hotel, and we brought along our yellow lab to celebrate our anniversary with us. Everyone connected with this hotel could NOT be nicer, more friendly, or helpful. We were always welcomed back warmly when we returned to the hotel, and the valets and the front desk people went out of their way to ask if we needed anything. When our kids tried to set up a champagne-and-strawberries gift to us, the hotel said they would take care of it and they comped it all! We also appreciated the help we got from both Ryan and Nick. Last but not least: Hotel Solamar is a great value -- and we couldn't believe we did not have to pay extra for the dog. We will be back! Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Maryann B,

We love hearing that! I also appreciate your kind words about Ryan, Nick and the rest of our team. We're enormously proud of the work they do. Come back and see us for the next anniversary and bring your lab too!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#6 Business Hotel in San Diego
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel’s coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.