We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
West Coast Winter 20% off
Ranked #39 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Corona del Mar, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

These past two days made up our second trip to this hotel, and we were just as pleased this time as last. We love the bright, stylish rooms. The location could not be more fun -- close to Petco, many restaurants and shops in the Gaslamp area, the convention center, and the beautiful harbor of San Diego. We were very happy to remember that this is a pet-friendly hotel, and we brought along our yellow lab to celebrate our anniversary with us. Everyone connected with this hotel could NOT be nicer, more friendly, or helpful. We were always welcomed back warmly when we returned to the hotel, and the valets and the front desk people went out of their way to ask if we needed anything. When our kids tried to set up a champagne-and-strawberries gift to us, the hotel said they would take care of it and they comped it all! We also appreciated the help we got from both Ryan and Nick. Last but not least: Hotel Solamar is a great value -- and we couldn't believe we did not have to pay extra for the dog. We will be back! Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Maryann B,

We love hearing that! I also appreciate your kind words about Ryan, Nick and the rest of our team. We're enormously proud of the work they do. Come back and see us for the next anniversary and bring your lab too!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    439
    112
    62
    26
See reviews for
168
581
84
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great location. Right in the heart of the Gaslamp district in San Diego. Tons of restaurants and nice shops all around.
The room was very nicely decorated and clean. Very fast check in and check out. Staff was very friendly. Restaurant Jsix is right inside the hotel. We ate there for dinner and the food and service was great although portions are small. We also had breakfast there. Food was not as good for breakfast but the service was good.
Nice lobby and free wine hour there from 5-6pm. Free coffee in lobby in the morning.
There is an outdoor bar off the 4th floor but we did not go because it was too cold outside.
Be aware that they charge $40 night for parking.
This was then end of our trip do we dropped off our rental car before coming here.
We took a taxi to the airport and it was not too far. Cab ride was about $15.
We enjoyed our stay & would stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear DiegoFlorida,

Thanks for joining us, it's always great to see someone from another area with great weather in the US come for a visit. I appreciate the feedback about our service and team and hope you can join us again in the future.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed here for a conference at the convention center and was very pleased. I had previously stayed at the Marriott Convention Center hotel. I enjoyed the Hotel Solarmar much more. The front staff was great and the food in the restaurant was wonderful. The rooms were clean and pretty. It was an easy walk to the conference center. I will definitely stay here next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Fi0na333,

What kind words, thanks so much for joining us. I really appreciate the feedback about our wonderful team and the great food in Jsix. Come back and see us soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

One of our main reasons for choosing the Hotel Solomar was the location of this hotel and the location was fantastic!!! My husband and I spent 7 nights at the Hotel Solomar while attending a conference and extending our stay for our Anniversary. We loved our room that was overlooking the pool. The room was spacious and very comfortable. We laso found our room to be very clean and the houskeeping staff was excellant. We loved the pool and the poolside bartenders Drew & Jeffery both were extremely friendly and had great suggestions for dinner. The front desk and valets were as equally friendly and helpful. You really get a great vibe from the staff at this hotel and the accomodations are wonderful. I highly reccommend this hotel for anyone visting the San Diego area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear KB1116,

Thanks for the comments! We also love our central location to the Gaslamp and San Diego Convention Center. Having a wonderful team like Drew & Jeffrey up in our poolside lounge doesn't hurt either! We hope you can make it back soon, and from all of us at the Hotel Solamar, Happy Anniversary!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed here last months b/c it's very close to the SD Convention center.

Swank, boutique-y hotel with a great location for exploring downtown or the harbor(and it's superior restaurants... We'll get to those) via a short trolley ride. But I wouldn't stay if during a visit that included partying or shopping up in Hillcrest... A $15 taxi ride away.

In any case, I'd recommend this place for its great price and posh factor. I also recommend taking the trolley down to the harbor to dine at Sally's on the Seashore at the Hyatt. There's also Pepperdine's and a Ruth Chris' SH.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear jjaylad,

Great to hear that you managed to get out and enjoy the area during your recent visit. We love Hillcrest too, it's one of the most vibrant local neighborhoods in our city and not enough visitors make it up there. Come back and see us soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Loved the location of this hotel, and particularly ejoyed the pool. The staff are really friendly and gave us good recommendations for restaurants. I like the extras you get with a Kimpton hotel, as if you sign up for their loyalty scheme, you get free wifi and a mini bar voucher. There's also the free wine hour every evening that is a nice extra. The parking here is ridiculously expensive, and after parking here for the first day, we moved it down the road a little where it cost about 50% less.

Room Tip: If you don't like pets, request a room that's on a pet free floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Lindsay D,

Thanks for your comments about your recent stay with us. I'm glad to hear our staff was able to make some good suggestions for dinner. There's so many options in the Gaslamp we never stop arguing about which one is the best! I also appreciate your feedback about the parking. Our prices do include valet service and unlimited 'In and Out', allowing you to come and go without additional charges. We do regular parking rate surveys in our area to ensure we're in line with the other parking lots. That said, we're always happy to point you to a place that has less expensive parking in the area. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I should start with the only negative whch was that this hotel was not cheap but I have stayed in various Kimpton hotels across the US and all have been excellent and I am happy to report this hotel is no different. Normal high standard Kimpton hotel and we chose a Spa room which had a fantastic spa bath as well as a massive room. Only gripe was the nightclub noise on the Saturday night but we were in the Gaslamp district so goes with the territotry.

What set this hotel apart from other top hotels was the staff. the attention to detail they showed was incredible and they were genuinely friendly. Free coffee until lunchtime and wine in the evening were a good bonus. Hotel is situated right in the middle of San Diego and walking distance to the harbour area, bars & restaurants aplenty.

Valet parking was steep at $40 per day so we used public car park straight across the road for $25 per night. Overall an excellent hotel and would definnitely use again.

Room Tip: Spa rooms are worth the little extra money charged
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear mGe0rdie_Mark,

Thanks for both your loyalty and your kind words. We're thrilled to hear the feedback about our team and agree they're a very special part of the Solamar. Apologies if you heard noise emanating from some of the local establishments; the Gaslamp is a pretty happening place! Please come back and see us soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar -a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Diego
#6 Business Hotel in San Diego
#9 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel’s coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.