We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prado at Balboa Park

Prado at Balboa Park
1549 El Prado, San Diego, CA 92101
619-557-9441
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Prado at Balboa Park is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #76 of 4,168 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 6th Avenue
Description: Set in the rich landscape and finely manicured gardens, the Prado Restaurant is located at the historic House of Hospitality in the center of San Diego’s famous Balboa Park.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Just wanted something lights so had coffees and a delicious dessert. A lovely atmosphere to sit and relax after viewing the stunning Balboa Park. The model railway museum has to be seen to be believed, and the architecture of the park is stunning.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    344
    91
    32
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pie Town, New Mexico
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food, too much blah blah from the server”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I guess it's a symptom of too many food shows on TV, but our server gave us long-winded explanations for everything on the menu, including an introductory lecture about the chef's "intentions" and "approach" to sandwiches, the objectives of the desired textures in the risotto (including discussion of the "interaction" between the asiago and parmesan cheeses), a synopsis of the thoughts behind using blood orange juice in one of the cocktails, etc. It was like a contestant on one of those "super chef" shows explaining his/her offering to the judges. My eyes started to glaze over and I just put my head back in the menu until she finished.

All of which is a disservice to the place itself. It has good food and the atmosphere was very pleasant--we had a nice lunch and I'd go back again, but all the self-consciousness is tiresome, particularly when the food, while good, doesn't rise to the level of profundity that all the analysis and introduction seems to imply--and that I wasn't sure the server even knew what she was talking about.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Color and Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Went here for my birthday. It's my favorite. My niece's wedding was celebrated here too. The best dish to me: truffle chicken with mascarpone polenta. What a beautiful collection of glass art to chat about while you enjoy the delicious delights.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Relaxing and refreshing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The Prado Restaurant is adjacent to a courtyard near the El Cid statue in Balboa Park's El Prado. Each of the four of us had a different lunch, and the lunches were terrific and large. My kobe beef cheeseburger with gorgonzola was exceptional, and the french fries were hot and almost-but-not-quite crunchy. Although the weather was very nice for San Diego in January, we ate inside and enjoyed the old world charm. The service was attentive without being hovering. All things considered, this made our visit to Balboa Park extra special.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hands down the best turkey burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Both my boyfriend and I ordered the Blt turkey burger and we're pleasantly surprised at how delicious it was!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prado at Balboa Park also viewed

 

Been to Prado at Balboa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prado at Balboa Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.