We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Prado at Balboa Park

The Prado at Balboa Park
1549 El Prado, At Balboa Park, San Diego, CA 92101
619-557-9441
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Prado at Balboa Park is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 3,692 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 6th Avenue
Description: Set in the rich landscape and finely manicured gardens, the Prado Restaurant is located at the historic House of Hospitality in the center of San Diego’s famous Balboa Park.
Midvale, Utah, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We went to Prado during restaurant week, they had a 3 course meal going on for 30$. I ordered the Caesar salad as my starter and my husband had the calamari fries and we shared. Both were very good starters. For our entrees I got the shrimp Alfredo, and my hubs got the ribs. My husband liked his meal. But I wasn't too fond of my entee, the shrimp was a bit stringy and rubbery. I let my waiter know and I decided to get the butternut squash risotto instead. And oh wow, it was so good! With the 3 course meal we received dessert. We shared an order if creme brûlée and a chocolate-hazelnut mousse bar. Both good. But the creme brûlée is to die for. All in all great food and great service!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    563
    350
    93
    34
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Perfect Pre-Theater Lounge Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We are regulars to The Old Globe Theatre and have our tradition of valet parking the car, enjoying appetizers and drinks in the bar/lounge area, then walking over to see our show. This visit was exceptional. We found a cozy table for two in the corner, our server was excellent, and the drinks and food were delicious. The blood orange cosmo is always refreshing, and my husband enjoyed a couple Mojitos. We shared 3 appetizers in succession..(shrimp skewers, then quesadillas and mahi mahi tacos). $70 for two excluding tip. We'll be back (and probably order the same thing)!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not as Spanish as you might expect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

While the exterior of the building is Spanish Colonial, the inside is a bit of mess. There are antler chandeliers stuffed with glass frisbies (art glass), wax candles fitted with flicker flame electric bulbs and dusty fake flowers. The food is good and the service is good but a bit pretentious. The inner dining room has a beautiful painted ceiling and there is also outdoor dining space but with no view. Nearby parking is free but valet service is available.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum Resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Prado is located in the heart of the museum district in Balboa Park. It is a wonderful oasis after a morning of taking in museum culture and history. The resturant itself is a beautiful blend of original historic architectural interiors now adorned with very contemporary artistic pieces including very colorful glass works. The food is very fresh and the service is quite attentative. I had the deconstructed fish tacos which included mango salsa and fresh salad garnish and is beautifully seasoned.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
384 helpful votes 384 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The setting was probably our favorite part, enjoying patio dining on a sunny afternoon. While the food was good, we had been expecting amazing, so there was a small letdown. The staff was polite and accommodating but our server was very slow. This is our least favorite Cohn restaurant to date.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Prado at Balboa Park also viewed

 

Been to The Prado at Balboa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Prado at Balboa Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.