We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Restaurant, Fabulous Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prado at Balboa Park

Prado at Balboa Park
1549 El Prado, San Diego, CA 92101
619-557-9441
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Prado at Balboa Park is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #81 of 4,156 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 6th Avenue
Description: Set in the rich landscape and finely manicured gardens, the Prado Restaurant is located at the historic House of Hospitality in the center of San Diego’s famous Balboa Park.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Restaurant, Fabulous Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was a wonderful restaurant, we were warmly welcomed and very well looked after. The food was superb as was the location.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    298
    82
    29
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great spot for a meal outside overlooking the Japanese Gardens.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I really like this place but it is in Balboa Park so make sure you know what is going on as it affects parking and how busy the restaurant is. I avoid it when I know it's busy. The menu has a wide variety of items and it is not unreasonable. I bring out of towners here when we go to the park and they have all loved it!! When it is busy service will be slow. This is not a place to get a quick meal so relax and enjoy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Fabulous up close art from very famous artists!!
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
We practically had the place to ourselves !!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“A jewel of a spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent the day at Balboa Park and decided that the cool, shady patio was perfect for lunch. Hubby had Whole Grain Mustard Steamed Mussels and I had Grilled Fish Tacos. Both were quite tasty and reasonably priced for being at a "museum" like setting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food with a garden view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lunch at the Prado is not to be missed, especially if you can get there as the restaurant opens for lunch and so be seated outdoors, overlooking a garden on a lower level. The food was excellent and the service of top quality.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prado at Balboa Park also viewed

 

Been to Prado at Balboa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prado at Balboa Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.