We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for a meal outside overlooking the Japanese Gardens.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prado at Balboa Park

Prado at Balboa Park
1549 El Prado, San Diego, CA 92101
619-557-9441
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Prado at Balboa Park is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #79 of 4,100 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 6th Avenue
Description: Set in the rich landscape and finely manicured gardens, the Prado Restaurant is located at the historic House of Hospitality in the center of San Diego’s famous Balboa Park.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great spot for a meal outside overlooking the Japanese Gardens.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I really like this place but it is in Balboa Park so make sure you know what is going on as it affects parking and how busy the restaurant is. I avoid it when I know it's busy. The menu has a wide variety of items and it is not unreasonable. I bring out of towners here when we go to the park and they have all loved it!! When it is busy service will be slow. This is not a place to get a quick meal so relax and enjoy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    271
    76
    28
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Fabulous up close art from very famous artists!!
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
We practically had the place to ourselves !!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“A jewel of a spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent the day at Balboa Park and decided that the cool, shady patio was perfect for lunch. Hubby had Whole Grain Mustard Steamed Mussels and I had Grilled Fish Tacos. Both were quite tasty and reasonably priced for being at a "museum" like setting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food with a garden view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lunch at the Prado is not to be missed, especially if you can get there as the restaurant opens for lunch and so be seated outdoors, overlooking a garden on a lower level. The food was excellent and the service of top quality.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really no other restaurant options”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Balboa Park is beautiful and amazing! After walking around we were hungry - other than food trucks our only option was Prado. The restaurant is pretty but food is not very good. I ordered the Mahi-Mahi fish tacos and my husband ordered the turkey burger. It was a Sunday afternoon - the restaurant was busy but not super busy. The tables next to us recieved their food, were finished eating and paid the bill before we even got our food. We were starving - but to our disappointment the food was not that good. The Mahi-Mahi tacos were deconstructed but the cabbage was to overpowering to include on the tacos, the jicama was mixed with something and it was bland and the mango salsa was not that good. The turkey burger my husband ordered had all sorts of healthy stuff on it - when done right - yum but it ended up being better when he deconstructed it and added ketchup. With so many good restaurants in San Diego to bad this one wasn't one of them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prado at Balboa Park also viewed

 

Been to Prado at Balboa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prado at Balboa Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.