We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with a garden view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prado at Balboa Park

Prado at Balboa Park
1549 El Prado, San Diego, CA 92101
619-557-9441
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Prado at Balboa Park is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #77 of 4,041 restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 6th Avenue
Description: Set in the rich landscape and finely manicured gardens, the Prado Restaurant is located at the historic House of Hospitality in the center of San Diego’s famous Balboa Park.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food with a garden view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lunch at the Prado is not to be missed, especially if you can get there as the restaurant opens for lunch and so be seated outdoors, overlooking a garden on a lower level. The food was excellent and the service of top quality.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    384
    242
    68
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really no other restaurant options”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Balboa Park is beautiful and amazing! After walking around we were hungry - other than food trucks our only option was Prado. The restaurant is pretty but food is not very good. I ordered the Mahi-Mahi fish tacos and my husband ordered the turkey burger. It was a Sunday afternoon - the restaurant was busy but not super busy. The tables next to us recieved their food, were finished eating and paid the bill before we even got our food. We were starving - but to our disappointment the food was not that good. The Mahi-Mahi tacos were deconstructed but the cabbage was to overpowering to include on the tacos, the jicama was mixed with something and it was bland and the mango salsa was not that good. The turkey burger my husband ordered had all sorts of healthy stuff on it - when done right - yum but it ended up being better when he deconstructed it and added ketchup. With so many good restaurants in San Diego to bad this one wasn't one of them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delightful find in Balboa Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were looking for a relaxing spot to have lunch and found the Prado at Balboa Park. We chose the Prado paella and the rosemary roasted half Jidori chicken. Both were very well prepared, good presentation and absolutely delicious. The only comment re the paella is that it was so full of seafood that there wasn't much room for the rice! The mascarpone polenta with the chicken was really wonderful - I'm picky about polenta having lived in Italy and was not disappointed. The only thing I found a little lacking was the chipotle hummus - I would have liked it more if it was creamier, but my husband loved it. The service was also very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield,MA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“One lovely Thursday night--with photography bonus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Recently visited San Diego and I had seen a promotional ad for a special Thursday night offered at the photography museum in Balboa Park and Prado. Two prix fixe 3 course meals plus a bottle of wine plus two tickets to the featured exhibits at the Museum of Photographic Arts. The food was very nice although there were not a lot of choices for each course---three for the entree for example. The food was tasty and nicely presented, the desserts a treat, the salads were just good looking salads and the wine was fine. The exhibits were very worth viewing and we were glad to have the chance to see them after a 6 o'clock dinner. I would do this again if a similar deal was offered and I love the setting at Prado anytime.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Lovely outdoor terrace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This is the perfect location for lunch while in the park. The terrace with umbrella shaded tables is very relaxing. The food was wonderful. The hummus and crackers they bring complimentary are a nice treat. The steak sandwich was full of flavor. Service was attentive, and the waiter very helpful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prado at Balboa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prado at Balboa Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.