We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern authentic US Thai with Thai chef, owner, excellent wine and late kitchen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taste of Thai

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Taste of Thai
527 University Ave, San Diego, CA 92103-3117
619-291-7525
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #586 of 4,041 restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Nice, France
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Modern authentic US Thai with Thai chef, owner, excellent wine and late kitchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Surveying the vast array of Thai and Asian options in cool late night Hillcrest Taste of Thai packed out both lunch and dinner. After very enjoyable first visit it became a regular dining spot. The mix and match noodle dishes were fabulous and the starter salads as good as any I've had in Thailand. Mark and all the staff were great we never spoke to the Thai owner but saw her passing by. They have a second restaurant nearby and as ever owners on site always makes for happy customers. Thanks for having us. Vegas was great but we hope to be back in Hillcrest before too long

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    16
    15
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Taste of Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Very Good Dinner, Just Tonight. Soup - Tom Kha Gai was Fine, Shrimp was a Generous Portion, Cooked Well, not Overdone. Ambiance and Service- Really Very Good, I would say TOP Notch! Not Busy Place, Did Not Feel Rushed. Have Had Thai Cuisine at MANY, Many Places, and Taste of Thai is Certainly on par with Most Places that I have had Dinner At. Thanks.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburnham, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absolute Worst Thai Restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Avoid like the plague. My wife and I love Thai food and have experienced it globally. This restaurant claims the notoriety of being the absolute worst Thai restaurant we've dined at. EVERY dish was horrible! I often order deep fried tofu with peanut sauce and even this was awful. The tofu tasted years old. The ambience was charming yet the service was ingratiating.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Thai in San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you like great curry and fresh ingredients this is the place for you. The massaman curry is the best I have ever tasted and instead of peanuts they put cashews in (yum!!).

What you'll notice here is that every ingredient is top quality and fresh. All the chicken breast meat has been thoroughly chosen well and is perfect! This is rare in any restaurant and the presentation as always is beautiful. The staff is attentive and very quiet and considerate. The decor is modern and yet still gives the feel of Thailand without being tacky.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Everything about Taste of Thai was nice: the decor, the very friendly staff and the very tasty food. And great value on top of that. Highly recommended.
One minor disappointment was that we were rather late and the restaurant closed at 10 pm. Staff made it quite clear that this was not the time that the doors closed but the time that we had to leave. A bit of a rushed ending to a good Thai meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Thai also viewed

 

Been to Taste of Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste of Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.