We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste of Thai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taste of Thai

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Taste of Thai
527 University Ave, San Diego, CA 92103-3117
619-291-7525
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #520 of 4,044 restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Taste of Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Very Good Dinner, Just Tonight. Soup - Tom Kha Gai was Fine, Shrimp was a Generous Portion, Cooked Well, not Overdone. Ambiance and Service- Really Very Good, I would say TOP Notch! Not Busy Place, Did Not Feel Rushed. Have Had Thai Cuisine at MANY, Many Places, and Taste of Thai is Certainly on par with Most Places that I have had Dinner At. Thanks.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    17
    15
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ashburnham, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absolute Worst Thai Restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Avoid like the plague. My wife and I love Thai food and have experienced it globally. This restaurant claims the notoriety of being the absolute worst Thai restaurant we've dined at. EVERY dish was horrible! I often order deep fried tofu with peanut sauce and even this was awful. The tofu tasted years old. The ambience was charming yet the service was ingratiating.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Thai in San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you like great curry and fresh ingredients this is the place for you. The massaman curry is the best I have ever tasted and instead of peanuts they put cashews in (yum!!).

What you'll notice here is that every ingredient is top quality and fresh. All the chicken breast meat has been thoroughly chosen well and is perfect! This is rare in any restaurant and the presentation as always is beautiful. The staff is attentive and very quiet and considerate. The decor is modern and yet still gives the feel of Thailand without being tacky.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Everything about Taste of Thai was nice: the decor, the very friendly staff and the very tasty food. And great value on top of that. Highly recommended.
One minor disappointment was that we were rather late and the restaurant closed at 10 pm. Staff made it quite clear that this was not the time that the doors closed but the time that we had to leave. A bit of a rushed ending to a good Thai meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Thai in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

To me the best Thai in Hillcreast (San Diego). Very fresh decoration and food. Make sure that if yo do not eat spicy you choose a level inferior to 3 on a scale of 10... the waiter will ask you for your preference anyway.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Thai also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego

Been to Taste of Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste of Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.